TIDAL release 15 Prince albums for his birthday

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 7 June 2016


TIDAL honoured Prince on Tuesday (07.06.16) by releasing 15 of his lesser-heard albums on what would have been the late music icon's 58th birthday

TIDAL released 15 Prince albums on Tuesday (07.06.16) - on what would have been his 58th birthday.

The paid-for music-streaming service, which is owned by superstar rapper Jay Z, have honoured the late music icon - who passed away in April, aged 57 - by releasing a selection of the 'Purple Rain' hitmaker's most eclectic records.

A post on TIDAL's official Twitter page read: "Today we honor @Prince http://TIDAL.com (sic)"

The catalogue includes 'Indigo Nights', which is made up of live tracks from Prince's official aftershow concerts from his 12-night residency at London's The O2 in 2007.

It also includes 1987's 'The Black Album', which was withdrawn a week before its release date and replaced with the more pop-orientated album 'Lovesexy' because Prince felt the record was too dark.

The list also includes two records that Prince produced for his backing group known as New Power Generation, 'Exodus' and 'New Power Soul'.

The news comes after the Governor of Minnesota, Mark Dayton declared June 7 'Prince Day', a day for the state to celebrate the life of the fallen pop star.

In 2015, the 'Little Red Corvette' star signed a deal with TIDAL to have his music exclusively available only through the app.

Speaking of his collaboration with TIDAL, Prince said previously: "After one meeting, it was obvious that Jay Z and the team he has assembled at TIDAL recognise and applaud the effort that real musicians put into their craft to achieve the very best they can at this pivotal time in the music industry.

"Secondly, TIDAL have honoured us with a non-restrictive arrangement that once again allows us to continue making art in the fashion we've grown accustomed to and we're extremely grateful for their generous support. "

The full list of Prince albums available on TIDAL are:

'The Black Album' (1987)

'1-800-New-Funk (1994)

'The Gold Experience' (1995)

'Exodus' (New Power Generation) (1995)

'Chaos And Disorder' (1996)

'Girl 6 Soundtrack' (1996)

'Crystal Ball' (1998)

'New Power Soul (New Power Generation) (1998)

'1999: The New Master' (1991)

'Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic' (2001)

'The Rainbow Children' (2001)

'One Nite Alone Live' (2002)

'One Nite Alone... The Aftershow It Ain't Over' (2002)

'Indigo Nights' (2008)

Post a comment