Simple Minds, James Bay and Snakehips win at Ivor Novellos 2016

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 19 May 2016
Simple Minds

Simple Minds

Simple Minds, James Bay and Snakehips were among the winners at the 61st Ivor Novello Awards on Thursday (19.05.16)

Simple Minds are "really chuffed" to be recognised for their songwriting with the Ivor Novello Award for Outstanding Song Collection.

The Scottish rock band - comprised of Jim Kerr, Charlie Burchill, Mel Gaynor, Andy Gillespie and Ged Grimes - never expected to receive such an accolade in their lifetime.

Speaking exclusively to BANG Showbiz at the 61st Ivor Novello Awards - sponsored by PRS for Music and BASCA - at London's Grosvenor House on Thursday (19.05.16), frontman Jim Kerr said: "It's still surreal coming to these kind of events. We said before it wouldn't be before our time.

"We are really chuffed it is great to be recognised for song writing."

Snakehips were "nervous" to be nominated alongside Grime superstar Skepta for Best Contemporary Song, but managed to beat him, winning the accolade for their song 'All My Friends' featuring Tinashe and Chance The Rapper.

Speaking backstage before they were announced as winners, they said: "Skepta has had an amazing year its crazy to be nominated in the same category as him. I am nervous, I think he'll win."

Meanwhile, Ed Sheeran lost out to his protégé Jamie Lawson who was awarded with the Best Song Musically and Lyrically for 'Wasn't Expecting That'.

Ed was nominated for 'Bloodstream', which was co-written by Snow Patrol's Gary Lightbody and Johnny McDaid.

Other big winners at the awards bash included Adele, who was crowned Songwriter of the year for a second time having picked up the same title in 2012.

It is the 'Hello' hitmaker's third Ivor Novello, having also won the PRS for Music Most Performed Work for co-writing Rolling In The Deep in 2012.

And this year's winner of Music Most Performed Work was 'Hold Back The River' hitmaker James Bay, who received his first ever Ivor.

Meanwhile, Happy Mondays were delighted with their award for their songwriting and said it's a long time coming.

Lead singer, Shaun Ryder said: "To be noted for writing a song from years ago feels f**king great. It should have happened 10 years ago. To actually get something for song writing is great."

Damon Albarn was given the Life Achievement award and Bryan Adams received the PRS for Music Special International Award.

Elsewhere, legendary songwriter Wayne Hector - who has written songs for the likes of One Direction, Nicki Minaj and Britney Spears - was honoured with the International Achievement gong.

The Ivors Classical Music Award went to Oliver Knussen and the Album Award was handed to Villagers for 'Darling Arithmetic'.

Best Television Soundtrack went to London Spy and Best Original Film Score was given to 'Ex-Machina.

Full list of winners from the 61st Ivor Novello Awards:

Best Song Musically and Lyrically - Jamie Lawson - 'Wasn't Expecting That'

Best Contemporary Song - Snakehips feat. Tinashe and Chance The Rapper 'All My Friends'

PRS for Music Most Performed Work - James Bay

Album Award - Villagers - Darling Arithmetic

Best Original Film Score - Ex-Machina Composed by Geoff Barrow and Ben Salisbury

Best Television Soundtrack - London Spy composed by Keefus Ciancia and David Holmes

The Ivors Classical Music Award - Oliver Knussen

International Achievement - Wayne Hector

The Ivors Inspiration Award - Paul Davis, Mark Day, Paul Ryder, Shaun Ryder and Gary Whelan [Happy Mondays]

Songwriter of the Year - Adele Adkins

Outstanding Song Collection - Charlie Burchill, Jim Kerr and Mick MacNeil [Simple Minds]

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music - Geoff Barrow, Beth Gibbons and

Adrian Utley [Portishead]

Lifetime Achievement - Damon Albarn

PRS for Music Special International Award - Bryan Adams

Post a comment