Wolf Hall scoops 6 nominations at British Academy Television Craft Awards

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 22 March 2016
Damian as Henry VIII

Damian Lewis in Wolf Hall

'Wolf Hall' is set to bag the most awards at this year's British Academy Television Craft Awards after scooping six nominations

'Wolf Hall' leads the way at this year's British Academy Television Craft Awards after scooping six nominations.

The BBC historical drama - starring Damian Lewis, Mark Rylance and Claire Foy - is in with the chance of walking away with more than one gong at the forthcoming ceremony after being nominated for Costume Design, Editing: Fiction, Make-up & Hair Design, Photography & Lighting: Fiction, Sound: Fiction and Writer: Drama categories.

But nipping closely at its heels with four nods are 'Fortitude', 'Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell', and 'London Spy'.

The 'Sound of Music Live!', which was adapted from the famous musical theatre production and filmed live in a studio, has secured three nominations, as did 'This is England '90', while 'An Inspector Calls', 'The Dresser', 'Doctor Foster', 'Great Barrier Reef with David Attenborough', 'Luther' and 'Poldark' all have two noms.

'Ant and Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway', 'I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out of Here!', 'Strictly Come Dancing' and 'Coronation Street' have also received a nomination.

Meanwhile, The British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) will also be dishing out a Special Award to industry-renowned casting director Nina Gold at the ceremony.

This year's event will be held at The Brewery in London on April 24 and will be hosted by Stephen Mangan again.

The full list of nominations are as follows;

Special Award

Nina Gold

Breakthrough Talent

DC Moore - 'Not Safe for Work'

Guillem Morales - 'Inside No. 9 - The 12 Days of Christine'

Marcus Plowright - 'Muslim Drag Queens'

Michaela Coel - 'Chewing Gum'

Costume Design

Barbara Kidd - 'Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell'

Fotini Dimou - 'The Dresser'

Joanna Eatwell - 'Wolf Hall'

Marianne Agertoft - 'Poldark'

Digital Creativity

Athena Witter, Barry Hayter, Teresa Pegrum and Liam Dalley - 'I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out of Here!'

Development Team - 'Humans'

Gabriel Bisset-Smith, Rachel De-Lahay, Kenny Emson, Ed Sellek - 'The Last Hours of Laura K'

Mike Smith, Felix Renicks, Kieron Bryan, Harry Horton - 'Two Billion Miles'

Director: Factual

Adam Jessell - 'Professor Green: Suicide and Me'

Dave Nath - 'The Murder Detectives'

James Newton - 'The Detectives'

Ursula Macfarlane - 'Charlie Hebdo: Three Days That Shook Paris'

Director: Fiction

Aisling Walsh - 'An Inspector Calls'

Ben Taylor - 'Catastrophe'

Jakob Verbruggen - 'London Spy'

Shane Meadows - 'This Is England '90'

Director: Multi-camera

Chris Power - 'Ant and Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway'

John Anderson - 'Coronation Street'

John Watts - 'Rugby World Cup Final: New Zealand v Australia'

Richard Valentine - 'The Sound of Music Live!'

Editing: Factual

Ben Brown - 'The Murder Detectives'

Dominic Lester - 'Great Barrier Reef with David Attenborough'

James Clarkson Lyon - 'Charlie Hebdo: Three Days That Shook Paris'

Simon McMahon - 'My Son The Jihadi'

Editing: Fiction

Alex Mackie - 'An Inspector Calls'

Daniel Greenway - 'Humans'

David Blackmore - 'Wolf Hall'

Matthew Gray - 'This Is England '90'

Victoria Boydell - 'London Spy'

Entertainment Craft Team

Andrew Notgate, Aiden Spackman, Kevin Day, Kevin Duff - 'A League of their Own'

James Clakre, Mark Owen, John Featherstone, Ian Hughes - 'The Apprentice'

Jason Gilkison, Mark Kenyon, Tony Revel, Dave Newton - 'Strictly Come Dancing'

Zac Nicholson, Tomas Burton, Edward K. Gibbon, Jacquetta Levon - 'The Sound of Music Live!'

Make-up & Hair Design

Amilie Gauthier, Joyce Dean - 'Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell'

Enzo Mastrantonio, Nick Dudman, Ferdinando Merolla - 'Penny Dreadful'

Jenny Shircore - 'The Dresser'

Roseann Samuel - 'Wolf Hall'

Original Music

Anne Dudley - 'Poldark'

Ben Foster - 'Thunderbirds Are Go'

Olafur Arnaulds - 'Broadchurch'

Steven Price - 'The Hunt'

Photography: Factual

Andrew Muggleton - 'Handmade: Metal'

Ben Stelle - 'The Children Who Beat Ebola'

Camera Team - 'The Hunt'

Pete Hayns, Mark Payne-Gill, Luke Barnett - 'Big Cats: An Amazing Animal Family'

Photograph and Lighting

Gavin Finney - 'Wolf Hall'

Ian Moss - 'The Frankenstein Chronicles'

John Conroy - 'Fortitude'

Laurie Rose - 'London Spy'

Production Design

Avid Roger - 'Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell'

Gemma Jackson - 'Fortitude'

Janey Levick - 'This is England '90'

Michael Ralph - 'Dickensian'

Sound: Factual

Andy James, Andy Payne, Andy Groves, Julian Pasqua - 'The Nation Remembers'

Daniel Jones, Gareth Malone, Conrad Fletcher, Mat Wood - 'The Naked Choir with Gareth Malone'

John Rogerson, Richard Addis, Ryan Twyman, Freddie Claire - 'Great Barrier Reef with David Attenborough'

Matt Skilton, Mike Hatch, Tony Brke - 'La Traviata: Love, Death and Divas'

Sound: Fiction

Adrian Rhodes, Jamie Roden, Antony Bayman- 'The Enfield Haunting'

Kevin Duff, Andy Deacon, Sally Hesketh, Ben Milton- 'The Sound Of Music Live!'

Rudi Buckle, Phil Barnes, Blair Jollands, Howard Bargroff- 'Fortitude'

Scott Jones, Rob Brazier, Joseph Stracey, Ian Voigt- 'London Spy'

Sound Team 'Wolf Hall'

Stuart Hilliker, Jim Goddard, Billy Quinn, Tom Deane- 'Doctor Foster'

Special, Visual & Graphic Effects

Bluebolt- 'The Last Kingdom'

Dneg Tv, Colin Rodgers- 'Fungus The Bogeyman'

Milk Vf- 'Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell'

Milk Vfx, Millennium Fx, Real Sfx, Molinare- 'Doctor Who'

Titles & Graphic Identity

Edward Tracy- 'Murder In Successville'

Momoco- 'Fortitude'

Nic Benns, Miki Kato- 'Luther'

Paul Mcdonnell, Ben Hanbury, Hugo Moss- 'The Last Kingdom'

Writer: Comedy

Jesse Armstrong, Sam Bain- 'Peep Show'

Julia Davis, Barunka O'shaughnessy- 'Hunderby'

Peter Kay, Paul Coleman, Sian Gibson- 'Peter Kay's Car Share'

Rob Delaney, Sharon Horgan- 'Catastrophe'

Writer: Drama Sponsored By Microsoft

Mike Bartlett- 'Doctor Foster'

Neil Cross- 'Luther'

Peter Straughan- 'Wolf Hall'

Russell T Davies- 'Cucumber'

Post a comment