Garbage announce first LP in four years

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 11 March 2016
Garbage Strange Little Birds

Garbage Strange Little Birds

Garbage announce new album 'Strange Little Birds' and summer European tour - four years since their last album release

Garbage are releasing their first album in four years.

The rock group - consisting of Shirley Manson, Steve Marker, Duke Erikson and Butch Vig - are returning with 'Strange Little Birds', an 11-track LP which they have self-produced.

The record will be released on June 10 via the band's STUNVOLUME label and it comes amidst their tour of Europe and the UK - which kicks off on May 24.

The 'Why Do You Love Me' hitmakers announced the album release and artwork on Twitter yesterday (10.03.16), tweeting: "We're very excited to officially announce our new album 'Strange Little Birds' will be released on June 10th, 2016."

Frontwoman Shirley described the album's overlying principle as "keeping it fresh, and relying on instinct both "lyrically and musically."

She also compared it to their 1995 self-titled debut, which the group reissued and took on tour for its 20th anniversary last year.

She said: "To me, this record, funnily enough, has the most to do with the first record than any of the previous records. It's getting back to that beginner's headspace."

Working initially in Butch's basement and then at Red Razor Sounds in Los Angeles, Garbage drew on a variety of sources, from their recent fan letters back to the albums they loved growing up.

The 'Strange Little Birds' is "less fussed over" than anything they've done before

Butch added: "We fell in love with immediacy."

'Strange Little Birds' is the follow-up to 2012's 'Not Your Kind of People', and here's the new album's full tracklisting and their European tour dates:

'Strange Little Birds' tracklist:

  1. Sometimes
  2. Empty
  3. Blackout
  4. If I Lost You
  5. Night Drive Loneliness
  6. Even Though Our Love Is Doomed
  7. Magnetized
  8. We Never Tell
  9. So We Can Stay Alive
  10. Teaching Little Fingers To Play
  11. Amends


Dark rock as Shirley Manson and co return.

Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, Richmond

Sat 13 Jul 2019

£30.58–£79.10 / 020 8332 5655

Post a comment