Bill Turnbull scoops Best News Presenter at TRIC Awards

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 9 March 2016
Bill Turnbull at the TRIC Awards

Bill Turnbull at the TRIC Awards

Bill Turnbull was crowned Best News Presenter at this year's TRIC Awards in London last night (08.03.16)

Bill Turnbull scooped Best News Presenter at this year's Television Radio Industries Club (TRIC) Awards in London.

The 'BBC Breakfast' host, who bowed out of the early morning news programme two weeks ago following 15 years on the show, has certainly gone out with a bang as he picked up the impressive accolade at last night's (08.03.16) event for his remarkable presenting skills.

The legendary newsreader, who once swore after stumbling over the word "customer," joked as he picked up his trophy: "I deserve the award for being the first presenter to say the c-word live on breakfast television."

His former co-star Carol Kirkwood also had all eyes on her as she picked up Best Weather Presenter for the fifth year running, while Nick Grimshaw was in his element as he beat Chris Evans to the Best Digital Radio Personality.

But it wasn't all bad news for Chris as 'The Chris Evans Breakfast Show' picked up Best Digital Radio Programme.

Ant and Dec, who didn't attend the event, nabbed Best TV Personality of the Year, while funnyman Keith Lemon's 'Celebrity Juice' won Best Digital Programme.

Meanwhile, 'EastEnders' managed to scoop two awards - Best TV Soap of the Year and Adam Woodyatt, who portrays busybody Ian Beale in the show, won Soap personality - at last night's glamorous ceremony.

The full list of winners at this year's Television Radio Industries Club (TRIC) Awards is as follows;

HD Sports Programme - 'Match Of The Day'

Weather Presenter - Carol Kirkwood

Sports Presenter - Jeff Stelling

Digital Radio Personality - Nick Grimshaw

TV Personality of the Year - Ant and Dec

News Presenter/Reporter - Bill Turnbull

Soap Personality - Adam Woodyatt

Factual Programme - 'Grand Designs'

Satellite/Digital Programme - 'Celebrity Juice'

HD Drama Programme of the Year - 'Downton Abbey'

Digital Radio Programme - 'The Chris Evans Breakfast Show'

Reality programme - 'Strictly Come Dancing'

Daytime programme - 'Pointless'

Crime programme of the Year - 'Silent Witness'

Entertainment Programme - 'Peter Kay's Car Share'

TV Soap of the Year - 'EastEnders'

TRIC Special Award - 'Casualty'

Post a comment