Blink -182 finish album

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 7 March 2016
Blink-182's Travis Barker

Blink-182's Travis Barker

Blink -182 have finished their new album after ditching 16 tracks which they already had for the record

Blink-182 have completed work on their new album.

The 'All the Small Things' rockers - who parted ways with founder member Tom DeLonge last year and replaced him with Alkaline Trio frontman Matt Skiba - scrapped 16 songs for the record and are thrilled with the replacement tracks.

Drummer Travis Barker told "The album's done, I'll be honest with everybody.

"It's just a matter of picking what 12 to 14 songs are going to be on the album. I think we wrote 26 or 27? So everyone right now is really pushing for their favourites."

There is no release date yet for the record - the follow-up to 2011's 'Neighborhoods' - but the group have been working hard to get it finished.

Travis said: "We've been working probably like 15-20 hour days so it's been a lot of time in the studio ... I was literally at (producer John Feldman's) house until 2 or 3am the day before the Grammys ... I was recording Blink drums."

And working with Matt has made things much easier for the trio.

Travis explained: "It was great to have someone who wants to be in the studio all the time with us. It has been amazing. I think the days of making great records, at least with Blink, the proof has been shown that it's great when we're all in the studio together.

"I think just sending track and sending ideas back and forth through the internet, it can't be as collaborative as it should be. I love us all being in the studio and throwing around ideas and really collaborating."

A new single will be revealed in the coming months, while a tour will be announced within the next six weeks.

Post a comment