Richard Ashcroft announces new LP These People

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 22 February 2016
Richard Ashcroft

Richard Ashcroft

Richard Ashcroft has announced he is releasing his first solo album for 10 years entitled 'These People'

Richard Ashcroft has announced he is releasing a new solo album 'These People'.

The former Verve frontman is returning with his first solo release since 2006's 'Keys To The World' and has unveiled debut single 'This Is How It Feels'.

Revealing the inspiration behind his first solo album for a decade, Ashcroft has shared it is a mix of tracks about "personal" dark times and world events.

He told NME: "It takes in some personal and world events [taking] a dark turn leading to a sense of urgency and a clearing of the mind.

"Over the period I wrote this we've lived through incredible times. Highly contentious wars were going into the pot. There were grassroots movements that were then turning into semi-revolutions, there was Tahrir Square. There was everything kicking off all over the globe, people being divided. Pepper spray everywhere, tear gas ... We're in a very nihilistic age, we're in death-ridden, world war times and I like to reflect the society we're in but I also want to possibly project something that gives us a sense of hope."

'This Is How It Feels' has already garnered the support of former Oasis star Liam Gallagher - who became close friends with Ashcroft when the two singers' bands ruled the charts in the 90s.

Praising the track on his Twitter account, Liam posted: "Richard Ashcroft good to hear your voice again new tune sounding good LG x (sic)"

'These People' will be released on May 20.

Richard Ashcroft's 'These People' tracklisting:

1. Out Of My Body

2. This Is How It Feels

3. They Don't Own Me

4. Hold On

5. These People

6. Everybody Needs Somebody To Hurt

7. Picture Of You

8. Black Lines

9. Ain't The Future So Bright

10. Songs Of Experience

Post a comment