Pet Shop Boys announce new LP Super

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 22 January 2016
Pet Shop Boys' Neil Tennant

Pet Shop Boys' Neil Tennant

Pet Shop Boys will return with their 13th studio album 'Super' on April 1, the pop duo's first since 2013's 'Electric'

Pet Shops Boys are returning with new album 'Super'.

The electro pop duo - consisting of Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe - will release their 13th studio LP on April 1 which they recorded with producer Stuart Price, who worked with them on 2013's 'Electric' and who has previously collaborated with the likes of Madonna, The Killers, Gwen Stefani and Missy Elliott.

In a statement, the group said: "It was fantastic to be back in the studio with Stuart Price continuing from where we left off with Electric and we're thrilled with the results."

The first official single to drop from 'Super' will be 'The Pop Kids', which is about London's 90s club scene.

Neil and Chris - who have three BRIT Awards to their name and have sold over 50 million albums - have also confirmed four residency shows at London's Royal Opera House from July 20 to July 23.

The band last performed live on their 'Electric' tour, on which Price acted as musical director.

Speaking about the shows, singer Tennant told The Evening Standard newspaper: "I think we have in our history a tendency to do quite theatrical concerts. It's important to make them feel like a special event. We're bringing something which is really a very electronic style of music into the ROH feels like we've got a great contrast."

Pet Shops Boys 'Super' tracklisting:

1. 'Happiness'

2. 'The Pop Kids'

3. 'Twenty-something'

4. 'Groovy'

5. 'The Dictator Decides'

6. 'Pazzo!'

7. 'Inner Sanctum'

8. 'Undertow'

9. 'Sad Robot World'

10. 'Say It To Me'

11. 'Burn'

12. 'Into Thin Air'

Post a comment