Book Week Scotland: Top Scottish authors on Twitter revealed

Book Week Scotland: Top Scottish authors on Twitter revealed

JK Rowling / credit: Andrew Montgomery

JK Rowling, Irvine Welsh and Ian Rankin all feature on Scottish Book Trust's list

In an age where to tweet is human and to trend divine, having a significant social media following is generally considered to be a good thing. Now, in advance of Book Week Scotland, the Scottish Book Trust has published a list of Scotland's 50 most influential novelists on Twitter, so now we all know who can hashtag like a champion.

Topping the poll is JK Rowling, which comes as no surprise: Harry Potter's enormous popularity aside, her profile is full of some absolute gems, including this time she had a spiffy back and forth with Robert Galbraith (aka, herself).

Second place goes to Limmy, comedian, author of Daft Wee Stories and general Vine king. Here's a good one for yeh.

And in third place, there's Irvine Welsh, who isn't shy of an opinion or two. I mean, just look at what he thought of Twitter's new heart system.

The SBT's full list is as follows:

1. JK Rowling (@jk_rowling)
2. Limmy (@DaftLimmy)
3. Irvine Welsh (@IrvineWelsh)
4. Ian Rankin (@BeathHigh)
5. Dr Brooke Magnanti (@belledejour_uk)
6. Neil Mackay (@NeilMackay)
7. Mark Millar (@mrmarkmiller)
8. John Niven (@nivenj1)
9. Alan Bissett (@alanbissett)
10. Estelle Maskame (@EstelleMaskame)
11. Val McDermid (@valmcdermid)
12. Cameron Stewart (@cameronMstewart)
13. Jenny Colgan (@jennycolgan)
14. Tom Gauld (@tomgauld)
15. John MacKay (@RealMacKaySTV)
16. Rob Brown (@RobBrownAuthor)
17. Gillian Philip (@Gillian_Philip)
18. Kevin Williamson (@williamsonkev)
19. Christopher Brookmyre (@cbrookmyre)
20. Sara Sheridan (@sarasheridan)
21. Ken Macleod (@amedlocke)
22. Elizabeth May (@_ElizabethMay)
23. AL Kennedy (@writerer)
24. Andrew Marr (@AndrewMarr9)
25. Philip Miller (@PhilipJEMiller)
26. Cat Clarke (@cat_clarke)
27. Neil Oliver (@Neil_Oliver_)
28. Louise Welsh (@louisewelsh00)
29. Aidan Moffat (@AidanJohnMoffat)
30. Kirsty Logan (@kirstylogan)
31. Denise Mina (@DameDeniseMina)
32. Pamela Butchart (@Pamela_Butchart)
33. Samatha Young (@AuthorSamYoung)
34. Kirstin Innes (@kirstininnes)
35. Emily Dodd (@auntyemily)
36. Kirsty Wark (@kirstywark)
37. Nicola Morgan (@nicolamorgan)
38. Colin Bell (@colinbell)
39. Julie Bertagna (@JulieBertagna)
40. Barry Hutchison (@barryhutchison)
41. Helen Grant (@helengrantsays)
42. Lin Anderson (@Lin_Anderson)
43. Matt Bendoris (@mbendoris)
44. Kerry Hudson (@KerrysWindow)
45. Charles Cumming (@charlescumming)
46. John Gordon Sinclair (@jgs_x)
47. Tony Black (@TonyblackUk)
48. Viv French (@fivekingdoms)
49. Peter May (@authorpetermay)
50. Douglas Jackson (@DougWriter)

Book Week Scotland

A 'national book festival' for Scotland courtesy of Creative Scotland, the Scottish Book Trust and many other collaborators across the country. A packed programme of star-studded author events, kids' activities and the distribution of free books all combine to form a week-long national celebration of reading. Events in…

Various venues: Scotland

Mon 27 Nov

Times & prices vary / 0131 524 0160

Tue 28 Nov

Times & prices vary / 0131 524 0160

Wed 29 Nov

Times & prices vary / 0131 524 0160

…and 4 more dates until 3 Dec

Irvine Welsh

Irvine Welsh's latest novel The Blade Artist revisits notorious Trainspotting character Begbie, now living with his wife and two children in America. Scottish author Irvine Welsh is best known as the author of the 1993 novel Trainspotting, a collection of short stories about a group of friends and acquaintances in…

Comments