James announce new album

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 17 November 2015
James new album artwork

James new album artwork

James are gearing up to release their 14th studio LP 'Girl at the End of the World' in March 2016 and area heading out on the road for a UK tour in support of the LP

James are releasing a new album next year.

The British indie band will release 'Girl at the End of the World' on March 18 and frontman Tim Booth has admitted their 14th studio album has been the most "difficult" and "stressful" to record.

In statement, Tim commented: "Bands talk about that difficult second album but it's the trickster 14th one that's the real mother f***er.

"As always with James it's a collaborative process allowing ample room for improvisation, intuition, skill and dumb luck. From the outside our process looks like chaos but chaos is our friend and we have a history that gives us confidence that something magical will eventually appear.

"Most of my best lyrics are unconscious typos so don¹t ask me what it's about; your projection is as good as mine. This was perhaps the most difficult and stressful album we have ever made. I hope you find it as rewarding as we do. OYSTER-GRIT-PEARL. (sic)"

James have numerous hits over the years including 'Sit Down', 'Come Home' and 'She's A Star'.

The Manchester rock group - comprised of Tim, Jim Glennie, Larry Gott, David Baynton-Power, Saul Davies, Mark Hunter and Andy Diagram - first formed in 1982 and were signed to the legendary Factory Records.

After years together and various line-up changes they parted ways in 2006 for Tim to work on separate projects but soon reformed in early 2007.

A new album 'Hey Ma' was released in April 2008, and peaked at number 10 on the UK album charts.

'Girl At The End Of The World' - their first studio release since 2014's 'La Petite Mort' - sees the band work with producer Max Dingel, known for his work with The Killers and Muse.

James have also revealed they will be touring in 2016, and among the confirmed UK dates are a hometown show at Manchester Arena and three concerts in London.

Bassist Jim Glennie said: "The essence of James is live. The pleasure never diminishes. I can't wait for us to get our hands on these songs in front of the best audience a band can have."

The album will be available to pre order from Wednesday, November 18.

'Girl at the End of the World' tracklisting:

1. Bitch

2. To My Surprise

3. Nothing But Love

4. Attention

5. Dear John

6. Feet Of Clay

7. Surfer's Song

8. Catapult

9. Move Down South

10. Alvin

11. Waking

12. Girl At The End Of The World

Post a comment