SNJO & Makoto Ozone – Jeune Homme (3 stars)

SNJO & Makoto Ozone – Jeune Homme

(Spartacus Records)

Scottish National Jazz Orchestra teams up with jazz pianist

Makoto Ozone’s re-imagining of Mozart’s 9th Piano Concerto benefits from a lightness of touch in both the playing and arrangements. Ozone is a graceful and witty pianist, whose bluesy twists on Mozart’s lines sound natural. While there are occasional lapses into syrupy Romanticism, the 15-piece Scottish National Jazz Orchestra comes to life in the third movement, ‘Rondo/Presto Be-Bop’, with Ozone, trumpeter Tom Walsh and drummer Alyn Cosker enjoying some buoyant solo features.

Elsewhere on the web

Post a comment