Everything we know about Chvrches' new album, Every Open Eye

Everything we know about Chvrches' new album, Every Open Eye

Credit: Elliot Lee Hazel

From release date to track list, the facts about the follow-up to The Bones of What You Believe

The word is out. Chvrches' much anticipated second album, Every Open Eye, is ready. Australian retailer Sanity has released details a tad early, so here are all the facts so far.

Title Every Open Eye

Release Date Fri 25 Sep 2015, on Universal Records

First Listen The lead single is due to be premiered on Radio 1 on Thu 17 Jul.

Content There might be one happy love song. In a recent Pitchfork interview, Lauren Mayberry stated: ‘I thought I had legitimately written a happy love song for this album, and I asked [engineer] Dave [Simpson] about it and he wasn’t sure. Because the album was written over such a long period of time, it’s about the goods and the bads, the beginnings and ends. Personally, I’m in a good place right now, but there’s definitely anti-love songs on there as well.’

Style Speaking to NME, band member Martin Doherty stated they wanted the follow up to The Bones of What You Believe to be a leaner album: ‘I think we'll use fewer instruments but ultimately try and do more with them. When you listen to a Michael Jackson song or a Prince song, you realise there's absolutely nothing in it but an amazing bassline, drums and singing. We want to channel some of that.’

Track List What can you glean from the song titles? Mayberry describes ‘Leave A Trace’ as ‘the middle finger mic-drop’.

01. Never Ending Circles
02. Leave A Trace
03. Keep You On My Side
04. Make Them Gold
05. Clearest Blue
06. High Enough To Carry You Over
07. Empty Threat
08. Down Side Of Me
09. Playing Dead
10. Bury It
11. Afterglow
12. Get Away
13. Follow You
14. Bow Down

Album Artwork The band had released unexplained teaser images of the album cover on their Twitter, with sections blacked out. Now the cat’s out the bag, here’s the cover in all its rosy glory.

Post a comment