Iron Maiden to release free 'Best of the 80s' download

  • 12 March 2008

Heavy metallers join digital revolution

Heavy metal behemoths Iron Maiden are joining the digital revolution to coincide with their 'Somewhere Back in Time' world tour that focuses on their 80s back catalogue.

EMI are launching Somewhere Back in Sound on 12 May, which can be downloaded for free in its entirety from

You can then listen to the entire album three times before the download expires, and fans are given the option to then purchase it.

'We recognise that our ever-increasing fan base is very young and can't be expected to know all the earlier albums, which is why we have put this collection together for them,' said Iron Maiden manger Ron Smallwood.

'Many of our fans weren't even born when the original albums were first released. We also recognise that "albums" as such have become unfashionable to many over recent years with TV-generated pop artists stringing a couple of "hit" singles together with filler tracks and releasing them as a quick fill album which disappoints and quickly becomes dated.

'So this is both an introduction to the band’s recording history and a chance for young fans to try a full-length Maiden album and realise they’re getting the real deal.'

The full track-listing for the album ‘Somewhere Back In Time’ is as follows:

1. Churchill Speech
2. Aces High
3. 2 Minutes To Midnight
4. The Trooper
5. Wasted Years
6. Children Of The Damned
7. The Number of The Beast
8. Run To The Hills
9. Phantom Of The Opera (live)
10. The Evil That Men Do
11. Wrathchild (live)
12. Can I Play With Madness
13. Powerslave
14. Hallowed Be Thy Name
15. Iron Maiden (live)


1. comment removed
User account closed.

Post a comment

RSS feed of these comments