Leonard Cohen to release live album with new songs

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 18 March 2015
Leonard Cohen - Can't Forget

Leonard Cohen is releasing a live album which contains two previously unheard songs

Leonard Cohen's upcoming live album will feature two new songs.

The 80-year-old singer/songwriter is bringing out 'Can't Forget: A Souvenir of the Grand Tour' complete with the previously unheard tracks 'Never Gave Nobody Trouble' and 'Got a Little Secret'.

The LP's track list also contains two previously unreleased cover versions, his interpretations of Georges Dor's Quebecois' 'La Manic' and George Jones' 'Choices'.

The other songs on the record are some of the lesser performed tracks from Cohen's impressive career.

Cohen recorded the album on stage and during sound checks on his 'Old Ideas World Tour' and it is the second live album the musician has released following 2014's 'Popular Problems'.

Previously speaking about how he works out what tracks he is going to play at his concerts and how he arranges his songs, Cohen said: "You can pretty well tell. We play it for select people, like my daughter - there's a few people who aren't afraid to tell you that it isn't working."

Referring to a track that didn't make the cut for 'Popular Problems', he added: "We had another song on the album, which was called 'Happens to the Heart,' which will be on the next album. It's a very good lyric, a very good tune, but we didn't nail it."

'Can't Forget: A Souvenir of the Grand Tour' is out on May 12.

'Can't Forget: A Souvenir of the Grand Tour' track list:

  1. Field Commander Cohen
  2. I Can't Forget
  3. Light as the Breeze
  4. La Manic
  5. Night Comes On
  6. Never Gave Nobody Trouble
  7. Joan of Arc
  8. Got a Little Secret
  9. Choices
  10. Stages

Leonard Cohen

Marvellous melancholia from the legendary Canadian chanteur, touring for the first time in years, but exhibiting startling, flirtatious form for an 80-something.

Elsewhere on the web

Post a comment