Blur to release new album, listen to new single now

Blur to release new album, listen to new single now

The Magic Whip to be the first studio LP the group has released in 12 years

News sure to cause a collective meltdown of fans everywhere, Blur have simultaneously announced their first studio album in 12 years, released the first single and confirmed an appearance in London’s Hyde Park at the British Summer Time Festival this June.

The Magic Whip will be available for download Mon 27 Apr and is already up for pre-oder on iTunes and Amazon, with the added bonus that you’ll get new single ‘Go Out’ immediately.

You can also listen to the new tune to your heart's content on Spotify, if that’s your player of choice:

The album, the band’s eighth and the first since 2003’s Think Tank, was apparently recorded in Hong Kong and will feature 12 new tracks.

Here’s the artwork and confirmation from the band themselves:

Magic Whip track list:
Lonesome Street
New World Towers
Go Out
Ice Cream Man
Thought I Was a Spaceman
I Broadcast
My Terracotta Heart
There Are Too Many of Us
Ghost Ship
Ong Ong

British Summer Time Festival

A big old music festival, held across a number of stages in sunny Hyde Park.


Seminal Britpop outfit fronted by with an enviable and eclectic backcatlogue of indie hits including 'Country House', 'Parklife', 'Song 2' and 'There's No Other Way'.

Post a comment