The Prodigy's album has 'sense of danger'

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 13 January 2015
The Prodigy

The Prodigy

The Prodigy's new album 'The Day Is My Enemy' will have a "sense of danger," with frontman Liam Howlett saying it sounds "violent"

The Prodigy wanted their new album to have a "sense of danger".

The trio will release their sixth studio album 'The Day Is My Enemy' on 30 March, and frontman Liam Howlett has said they were keen for their music to be an "attack," which is why the record sounds "so angry".

He said: "I can't tell you why this record came out so angry, I think it's just inbuilt in me.

"It's more about what I like music to do. I've always seen music I like as a form of attack. That's what I use music for, it's an attack."

Despite the hard-hitting electronic sound they are famous for on hits such as 'Firestarter' and 'Smack My Bitch Up', the 43-year-old musician said he wasn't trying to make a violent album this time around, but the result came as a result of his personal emotions.

He explained: "I didn't plan this album to sound violent, it's just the sound that came out of the studio, a kind of build up over the last 4 years. 'Anger is an energy', that's a lyric which always resonated with me. The tension is buried deep in the music right from the first drop. It's all about the sound having that sense of danger. That's what The Prodigy sound is about."

The band - which also features Maxim and Keith Flint - recently premiered their new single, 'Nasty', as well as announcing a 14-date tour which will take them across the UK.

The Prodigy's 2015 UK tour dates are:

4 May - Newcastle O2 Academy

5 May - Bridlington Spa

7 May - Birmingham O2 Academy

8 May - Cardiff Arena

9 May - Blackpool Empress Ballroom

11 May - Reading Rivermead

12 May - Brighton Centre

14 May - Bournemouth BIC

15 May - London Alexandra Palace

16 May - London Alexandra Palace

The Prodigy

Veteran techno rockers, renowned for their blistering live shows and single 'Firestarter'.

Post a comment