Gregory Porter collaborates with Laura Mvula

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 8 January 2015
Gregory Porter

Gregory Porter

Gregory Porter has recorded a duet of his track 'Water Under Bridges' with Laura Mvula, to feature on the expanded deluxe edition of his album 'Liquid Spirit'

Gregory Porter has collaborated with Laura Mvula.

The jazz singer has recorded a duet with the 'Green Garden' hitmaker on a revamped version of his track 'Water Under Bridges', which will feature on the expanded deluxe edition of his critically acclaimed album 'Liquid Spirit'.

Speaking about the 43-year-old musician, Laura said: "It's like the stars align when he does his thing."

The duet was originally performed last year when the 28-year-old joined Gregory on stage for his iTunes Festival performance at Camden's Roundhouse in London, with the crowd's reaction inspiring them to re-record the track together to be released as a single.

Written by the 'Be Good (Lion's Song)' singer - who won the Grammy Award for Best Jazz Vocal Album last year - the track laments his struggles to get over broken relationships, and appears on the repackaged album alongside a collaboration with Jamie Cullum on the track 'Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood'.

Elsewhere on the record, additional content comes from Ben L'Oncle Soul and a remix from 20Syl, with a bonus DVD featuring footage from Gregory's performance with the Metropole Orchestra, conducted by Jules Buckley.

The tracklist for the expanded deluxe edition of 'Liquid Spirit' - which will be released on January 12 - is as follows:

1. 'No Love Dying'

2. 'Liquid Spirit'

3. 'Lonesome Lover'

4. 'Water Under Bridges'

5. 'Hey Laura'

6. 'Musical Genocide'

7. 'Wolfcry'

8. 'Free'

9. 'Brown Grass'

10. 'Wind Song'

11. 'The In Crowd'

12. 'Movin''

13. 'When Love Was King'

14. 'I Fall In Love Too Easily'


15. 'Water Under Bridges' ft. Laura Mvula

16. 'Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood' ft. Jamie Cullum

17. 'Grandma's Hands' ft. Ben L'Oncle Soul

18. 'Liquid Spirit (20Syl remix)'


'Gregory Porter Meets Metropole Orkest'

1. 'Grandma's Hands'

2. 'Hoochie Coochie Man'

3. 'She Was Too Good To Me'

4. 'Someday We'll All Be Free'

5. 'Work Song'

Gregory Porter

Mainstream jazz and soul from the Grammy-nominated singer and composer.

Post a comment