Shirley Bassey announces album

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 22 October 2014
Shirley Bassey

Shirley Bassey

Shirley Bassey has announced that she will release her first album in five years in November to celebrate 60 years in the music industry, which will include a duet with chart-topping singer Paloma Faith

Dame Shirley Bassey has announced the release of her first album in five years, 'Hello Like Before'.

The iconic singer has returned to the studio to record the collection of covers, which includes some of the greatest songs of the 20th century, to celebrate her stellar career spanning 60 years.

The most impressive track will see the 77-year-old star collaborate with 'Only Love Can Hurt Like This' singer Paloma Faith on a cover of 'Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend', made famous by Marilyn Monroe in the 1953 film 'Gentlemen Prefer Blondes'.

The collection has been recorded at the legendary Abbey Road studios in London with producer and musical director Stuart Barr, and will also see the Cardiff-born lass revisit her unmistakable James Bond theme 'Goldfinger' which she originally released in 1964.

Talking about returning to the well-known tune, she remarked: "I got a couple of notes wrong originally! After 50 years I got the chance to re-record it and get it right. It was great to record it in Abbey Road, wearing a gown!"

Elsewhere on the album - which will be released on November 17 - the star will cover some of her personal favourites including Sting's 'Englishman in New York' and 'Hey Jude' by The Beatles.

The full tracklisting is below:

1. This Is What You Are

2. Englishman In New York

3. Fever

4. I'm Still Here

5. Macarthur Park

6. Wild Is The Wind

7. Goldfinger

8. Diamonds Are A Girl's Best Friend (duet with Paloma Faith)

9. Here's To Life

10. It Was A Very Good Year

11. Hello Like Before

12. We Got Music (deluxe bonus track)

13. Hey Jude (deluxe bonus track)

Post a comment