Elvis Costello, Cyndi Lauper and Gloria Estefan up for Songwriting Hall of Fame

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 16 October 2014
Cyndi Lauper

Cyndi Lauper

Elvis Costello, Cyndi Lauper, Gloria Estefan, Tom Petty, Cat Stevens, Steve Miller and Kenneth 'Babyface' Edmonds' are among the acts being considered for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame next year

Elvis Costello, Cyndi Lauper, Gloria Estefan and Kenneth 'Babyface' Edmonds' are being considered for the Songwriters Hall of Fame.

The organisation has announced its 2015 nominees and also among the performing songwriters being considered for inclusion are Tom Petty, Cat Stevens - aka Yusuf Islam - Steve Miller, Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart, Steve Winwood, Toby Keith, and KC & the Sunshine Band's Harry Wayne 'KC' Casey.

Among the non-performing writers being considered are Linda Perry, Allee Willis, Rod Temperton - who co-wrote Michael Jackson's 'Thriller' - Motown songwriter William 'Mickey' Stevenson, Bobby Braddock, Bob McDill, Rudy Clark and Randy Edelman.

In addition, writing duos Mike Chapman and Nicky Chinn, Sandy Linzer and Denny Randell, P.F. Sloan and Steve Barri, and Robert Hunter and Jerry Garcia are also being considered for inclusion.

The chosen songwriters will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at a gala in New York next June.

The 2014 inductees included Ray Davies of The Kinks, Donovan, 10cc's Graham Gouldman, 'Suspicious Minds' writer Mark James and 'Midnight Train to Georgia' writer Jim Weatherly.

Sadly, Ray was unable to attend the ceremony because of the death of his sister.

Post a comment