McBusted sign record deal

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 8 October 2014


McBusted have announced plans for a single, 'Air Guitar', and album after signing a deal with Island records

McBusted are to release a new album.

The supergroup - consisting of McFly members Tom Fletcher, Danny Jones, Dougie Poynter and Harry Judd and Busted's James Bourne and Matt Willis - have signed a deal with Island Records following a bidding war with Sony Music and fans are likely to hear the record very soon.

Tom said: "There was interest really early on but I don't think we wanted to jump the gun."

Matt added: "Island Records felt like the obvious choice. McFly and Busted both signed there as 16 year olds. It's our home."

Ahead of the album, the band will release debut single 'Air Guitar' on November 23 and they can't wait for people to hear the song.

Tom told The Sun newspaper: "When you decide first singles, opinions can be really divided -- this was the first time everyone was united."

Danny added: "We said we wouldn't release anything unless we were all equally excited. Now we want to let the world hear it."

Despite their excitement over the track, the group insist they aren't putting "pressure" on themselves for it to be a number one.

Harry said: "We're definitely not putting pressure on ourselves like that. Once a song's done it's out of your control. You don't know who's going to play it."


Fans of early-noughties fresh-faced pop punk – hold onto your hats. Busted and McFly are only merging together to create probably the most inoffensive supergroup ever.

Post a comment