The Who release new song to mark 50th anniversary

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 24 September 2014
Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend

Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend

The Who have announced they are releasing a new song, 'Be Lucky', on their 'Who Hits 50' compilation album

The Who are to release a new song to celebrate their 50th anniversary.

The 'My Generation' rockers reached the landmark this year and are bringing out 'Who Hits 50', a compilation of their best songs, complete with fresh composition 'Be Lucky' to mark the occasion.

'Be Lucky' is The Who's first new material for eight years and the track was produced by Dave Eringa, best known for his work with the Manic Street Preachers, Wilko Johnson and Roger Daltrey.

The song was recorded this summer at British Grove and Yellowfish Studios and as well as frontman Daltrey and guitarist Pete Townshend it also long-time Who live musicians, drummer Zak Starkey, bassist Pino Palladino and keyboard player Mick Talbot.

All royalties made from the song will be donated to Daltrey and Townshend's charity Teen Cancer America.

The album will be released on November 3 to coincide with the band's 50th anniversary UK tour, 'The Who Hits 50'.

Speaking about the run of shows, that kick off on November 30 in Glasgow, Scotland, Townshend previously said: "I really want to do it. I'm good at it and I find it fulfilling but it's not something I enjoy as much as sitting at home in the studio writing songs. But this one I really want to do because it's a significant anniversary ... To me it's all about going out and playing and celebrating the 50th anniversary."

'Who Hits 50' tracklisting:

Disc 1

  1. Zoot Suit - (as The High Numbers)
  2. I Can't Explain
  3. Anyway Anyhow Anywhere
  4. My Generation
  5. Substitute
  6. The Kids Are Alright
  7. I'm A Boy
  8. Happy Jack
  9. Boris The Spider
  10. Pictures Of Lily
  11. The Last Time
  12. I Can See For Miles
  13. Call Me Lightning
  14. Dogs
  15. Magic Bus
  16. Pinball Wizard
  17. I'm Free
  18. The Seeker
  19. Summertime Blues (live)
  20. See Me, Feel Me
  21. Won't Get Fooled Again (single edit)
  22. Let's See Action
  23. Bargain
  24. Behind Blue Eyes

Disc 2

  1. Baba O' Riley
  2. Join Together
  3. Relay
  4. 5:15
  5. Love Reign O'er Me
  6. Postcard
  7. Squeeze Box
  8. Slip Kid
  9. Who Are You
  10. Trick Of The Light
  11. You Better You Bet
  12. Don't Let The Coat
  13. Athena
  14. Eminence Front
  15. It's Hard
  16. Real Good Looking Boy
  17. It's Not Enough
  18. Be Lucky

Post a comment