Sam Smith up for four MOBO Awards

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 23 September 2014
Sam Smith

Sam Smith

Sam Smith and hip hop duo Krept & Konan lead the way in nominations at this year's MOBO Awards with four nods each

Sam Smith has been nominated for four MOBO Awards.

The 22-year-old singer is up for Best Male Act, Best Song for 'Stay With Me', Best Album for his debut 'In The Lonely Hour' and Best R&B / Soul Act.

Hip hop duo Krept & Konan also have four nominations, and will compete with Sam in the Best Song and Best Album categories in which their single 'Don't Waste My Time' and their LP 'Young Kingz' have been listed.

Tinie Tempah, Fuse ODG, Ghetts, Meridian Dan and FKA Twigs - who is rumoured to be dating Robert Pattinson - are all up for three awards, while Katy B and Marsha Ambrosius have two nods each.

The Best Newcomer prize is set to be one of the most hotly contested awards at the ceremony with Ella Eyre, FKA Twigs, Jess Glynne, Kwabs, Little Simz, M.O, Melissa Steel, Meridian Dan, MNEK and

Raleigh Ritchie battling it out.

MNEK is hopeful he will walk away with the statuette on the night and is "honoured" he has even been nominated.

Speaking at the nominations announcement at Ronnie Scott's Jazz Club in London on Tuesday afternoon (23.09.14), he told BANG Showbiz: "Being a black artist and being nominated for an award that is for music of black origin makes me really proud. I'm really honoured to be nominated for Best Newcomer, I'm thankful for it.

"Hopefully this will make more people aware of me, I want people to know who I am and I want people to hear what I've got to say. Things like the MOBOs are great platforms for artists."

The MOBO Awards Supported by HTC One take place at The SSE Arena in Wembley, London, on October 22 and will be hosted by Sarah-Jane Crawford.

The ceremony will be broadcast live on ITV2 with a highlights show on ITV.

To vote for this year's nominees, go to

Tickets to attend the MOBO Awards are available via

MOBO Awards 2014 full nominations:

MOBO Best Male Act:

Fuse ODG


Krept & Konan

Sam Smith

Tinie Tempah

MOBO Best Female Act:

FKA Twigs

Jessie J

Katy B

Marsha Ambrosius

Rita Ora

MOBO Best Newcomer:

Ella Eyre

FKA Twigs

Jess Glynne


Little Simz


Melissa Steel

Meridian Dan


Raleigh Ritchie

MOBO Best International Act:


Chris Brown


Iggy Azalea

J Cole

Jhene Aiko

Kendrick Lamar

Nicki Minaj


Trey Songz

MOBO Best Song:

Ed Sheeran ft. Pharrell, 'Sing'

Fuse ODG ft. Sean Paul, 'Dangerous Love'

Krept & Konan, 'Don't Waste My Time'

Meridian Dan ft. Big H & JME, 'German Whip'

Sam Smith, 'Stay With Me'

MOBO Best Video:

FKA Twigs, 'Two Weeks'

Jacob Banks, 'Move With You'

Rudimental ft. Becky Hill, 'Powerless'

Scorcher ft. Wretch 32, Mercston & Ari, 'Work Get It'

Skepta ft. JME, 'That's Not Me'

MOBO Best Album:

Ghetts, 'Rebel With A Cause'

Katy B, 'Little Red'

Krept & Konan, 'Young Kingz'

Sam Smith, 'In The Lonely Hour'

Tinie Tempah, 'Demonstration'

MOBO Best Gospel Act:

Annastasia Baker

J. Vessel

Kristyna Myles

Living Faith Connection Choir

Noel Robinson

MOBO Best Reggae Act:




Stylo G

Tarrus Riley

MOBO Best Jazz Act:

Andreas Varady

Jason Rebello

Peter Edwards


Zara McFarlane

MOBO Best Hip Hop Act:



Krept & Konan

Professor Green

Tinie Tempah

MOBO Best African Act:

Afrikan Boy


DJ Clock

Dr Sid

Fuse ODG


Mista Silva

Tiwa Savage

Wiz Kid

Yemi Alade

MOBO Best Grime Act:

Big Narstie



Lethal Bizzle

Meridian Dan






MOBO Best R&B / Soul Act:



Jessie Ware

Marsha Ambrosius

Sam Smith

Sam Smith

The London-based soul/pop singer is back with new album The Thrill of It All, following the massive success of his debut In the Lonely Hour.

Post a comment