J.J. Abrams adds Christina Chong to Star Wars cast

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 18 July 2014
J.J. Abrams

J.J. Abrams

J.J. Abrams has added '24: Live Another Day' actress Christina Chong to the cast of the upcoming 'Star Wars: Episode VII'

J.J. Abrams has added Christina Chong to the cast of 'Star Wars: Episode VII'.

The actress - who recently starred in '24: Live Another Day' - has signed up to join the cast of the highly anticipated next instalment of the sci-fi franchise, Latino Review reports.

Chong - who recently landed the female lead in Sergio Mimica-Gezzan's digital feature project 'Halo: Nightfall' - will join original cast members Harrison Ford, Mark Hamill and Carrie Fisher, as well as new stars Oscar Isaac and Lupita Nyong'o, although it's yet to be announced what role she will take on.

Production is well under way on the project - which is being directed by Star Trek's J.J. Abrams - as shooting in Abu Dhabi is complete and filming now continues at Pinewood Studios in Buckinghamshire, South East England.

However, the cast and crew are scheduled to take a break next month following an incident on set where the door of the Millennium Falcon spaceship fell on Ford's leg forcing him to undergo surgery.

Despite experiencing a delay in filming, 'Star Wars: Episode VII' is still scheduled for release in December 2015.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens

  • 5 stars
  • 2015
  • US
  • 2h 16min
  • 12A
  • Directed by: JJ Abrams
  • Written by: Lawrence Kasdan, J.J. Abrams, Michael Arndt
  • Cast: John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, Max von Sydow, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, Kenny Baker
  • UK release: 17 December 2015

From the ashes of the Empire, the villainous First Order rises up to destroy Luke Skywalker (Hamill) – but where is he? Fans can rejoice: Episode VII is sensational and surprisingly emotional, with a finely-crafted script and effects that never overpower the performances. Star Wars is back in a big way.

Post a comment