Classic Doctor Who to be screened on Horror Channel

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 13 March 2014
Tom Baker as the Fourth Doctor

Tom Baker as the Fourth Doctor

The Horror Channel has reached an agreement with BBC Worldwide to screen 30 stories from the classic series of 'Doctor Who' which ran from 1963 to 1989

Classic episodes of 'Doctor Who' are returning to TV.

Adventures from the sci-fi show's original run from 1963 to 1989 are going to be aired on The Horror Channel - which has completed a deal with BBC Worldwide to broadcast 30 stories - from April 18 and will start with the very first story 'An Unearthly Child', starring William Hartnell as the Doctor.

This will be followed by a special 'Who On Horror' weekend marathon featuring a story of each of the first seven Doctors shown in chronological order.

Among the adventures being screened are some that are considered by fans and critics to be steeped in the horror genre, including 'The Daemons' starring Jon Pertwee as the Third Doctor, 'Genesis of the Daleks' with Tom Baker as the Fourth Doctor and 'The Curse of Fenric' with Sylvester McCoy playing the Seventh Doctor.

Among the iconic monsters that will be seen are the Daleks, the Sea Devils and the Ice Warriors.

Alina Florea, Director of Programming for The Horror Channel, said: "There are many horror themes that 'Doctor Who' has tackled over the years and people of all ages have been terrified and found cowering behind the sofa.

"Our selection from the classic series include the original appearances of some of the most revered monsters and TV moments which captured the imagination of children and adults throughout the decades.

"'Doctor Who' is an iconic brand and we are proud and thrilled to welcome this giant of British television to our channel."

Post a comment