Coldplay announce new album Ghost Stories

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 3 March 2014
Cover for Coldplay's Ghost Stories

Cover for Coldplay's Ghost Stories

Coldplay have announced their sixth studio album is called 'Ghost Stories' and will be released on May 19, preceded by single 'Magic'

Coldplay have announced their new album is called 'Ghost Stories'.

The super-group - comprised of frontman Chris Martin, guitarist Jonny Buckland, bassist Guy Berryman and drummer Will Champion - will release their sixth studio LP on May 19 and it will be preceded by single 'Magic'.

Coldplay have also revealed a full tracklisting for the album, which includes 'Midnight' - the Jon Hopkins produced track which they streamed on their official site in February.

Fans can now pre-order the hotly-anticipated release from iTunes worldwide and anyone who pre-orders the album will receive an instant download of the single 'Magic'.

The 'Midnight' video was directed by Mary Wigmore shows Chris and his bandmates walking through a woodland, and the black and white promo later flashes different colours and a fox moves among the grass.

The electronic track - which features Chris' voice put through a vocoder - is a big departure from the band's usual melodies and big choruses.

Coldplay have also been announced as one of the acts performing at at the iTunes Festival at SXSW in Austin, Texas. They will open the festival on March 11. The performance will stream live and on-demand worldwide for free via the iTunes Store.

Speaking about the upcoming gig, Will said: "We're really looking forward to the first ever iTunes Festival in the US, and are thrilled to be asked to play on the opening night. It's a great honour for our band and we hope everyone has a fantastic time."

'Ghost Stories' full tracklisting:

1. 'Always In My Head'

2. 'Magic'

3. 'Ink'

4. 'True Love'

5. 'Midnight'

6. 'Another's Arms'

7. 'Oceans'

8. 'A Sky Full Of Stars'

9. 'O'


The anthemic indie quartet continue to steamroller all before them.

Post a comment