Oasis to re-release Definitely Maybe

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 26 February 2014
Noel and Liam Gallagher

Liam and Noel Gallagher

Oasis are to re-issue their debut album 'Definitely Maybe' with unreleased tracks and bonus material to celebrate its 20th anniversary this year

Oasis are re-releasing their debut album 'Definitely Maybe' with previously unheard tracks to celebrate the LP's 20th anniversary.

The band - who split in August 2009 after brothers Noel and Liam Gallagher had a huge backstage bust-up in Paris, France - sent the internet into meltdown yesterday (25.02.14), after teasing an announcement at 9am this morning (26.02.14), prompting speculation of a reunion.

But instead they revealed plans to bring out a new version of their acclaimed debut record - which will be available from May 19. The anticipation of a possible reunion saw fans crash their official website oasisinet.com.

The re-issue is the first in the 'Chasing The Sun' series from Big Brother Recordings - the brothers' own record label - with 'What's the Story (Morning Glory)?' and 'Be Here Now' also set to be re-released.

Original Oasis guitarist Paul 'Bonehead' Arthurs - who quit the group in 1999 - told NME magazine: "There were no discussions at all about any anniversary shows. These reissues are the best way to celebrate, because all three albums have great extras."

The re-issue will be available in a number of formats and packages, including a three-disc deluxe edition, featuring unheard acoustic versions recorded in Paris of 'Live Forever' and 'Shakermaker', along with an early demo of 'Half The World Away', recorded by Noel in a hotel room in Tokyo, Japan, and a demo of rare song 'Strange Thing'.

The band's 1994 standalone single 'Whatever' will be included as well as versions of all the B-sides from the album's four singles - 'Supersonic', 'Shakermaker', 'Live Forever' and 'Cigarettes & Alcohol'.

'Definitely Maybe', which was produced by Owen Morris, sold 86,000 copies in its first week of sales in August 1994 and was the fastest-selling debut album in UK chart history until Arctic Monkeys' 'Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not' beat the record in 2005.

The original line-up of Oasis that recorded the album was made up of singer Liam, guitarist and songwriter Noel, rhythm guitarist Bonehead, bassist Paul 'Guigsy' McGuigan and drummer Tony McCarroll.


Britpop demi-gods Oasis hit the road one more time.

Post a comment