Dancing On Ice line-up revealed

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 11 December 2013
Beth Tweddle

Dancing On Ice current champion Beth Tweddle

The line-up for the final season of 'Dancing On Ice' has been revealed, with six former champions taking part

Former 'Dancing on Ice' winners Suzanne Shaw, Hayley Tamaddon, Beth Tweddle, Ray Quinn, Kyran Bracken and Sam Attwater are all returning for the final series of the show.

The ninth season of the celebrity skating contest is to be the last, so will feature former contestants and alongside the six winners, a host of other highly-placed and well-loved contestants will be returning.

Bonnie Langford and David Seaman, who came third and fourth in the first series, will be back, as will Zaraah Abrahams and Gareth Gates, who took the same places in series three.

Season five runner-up Gary Lucy will be back, as will Jorgie Porter, who came second in series seven.

Todd Carty - who famously accidentally skated off the ice in series four - and Joe Pasquale will also be back, despite only coming ninth and sixth in their respective series.

Ray won the competition in 2009 and while he can't wait to return to the ice, he is expecting a much tougher challenge this time around.

He said: "It's such a huge privilege to be invited back on to 'Dancing on Ice' for the grand finale and I'm so excited. It is going to be a lot tougher though this time round, the stakes are so much higher. There are so many great skaters returning to show what they can do and the standard is going to be very high. "However, I have been putting the hours in with my 'ice time' the past few weeks to try to get back on the horse and I've been just loving it, I'm so happy I'm back."

Phillip Schofield and Christine Bleakley will return to host, and professional skaters Jane Torvill and Christopher Dean - who will be celebrating 30 years since their famous Bolero routine won them gold at the Winter Olympics - will be coaching the contestants for the final time.

Phillip said: "Viewers are in for an absolute treat this year. I'm over the moon we'll be welcoming back to the ice some of our very best skaters and characters from over the years."

Season one winner Gaynor Faye and season seven champion Matthew Wolfenden are the only winners not returning.

Hayley has emerged as the early favourite to win the final series with bookmakers Paddy Power offering 4/1 on her to triumph. Her nearest competition appears to be Kyran and Ray, who are both available at 5/1, while Beth, Sam and Jorgie are 6/1.

Those keen to place some money on a novelty bet might like to take up the bookmaker's 5/2 on any contestant to fall on the ice during the first live show.

A Paddy Power spokesperson said: "Hayley Tamaddon may be favourite for 2014 'Dancing on Ice' glory but with the slippery customers Joe Pasquale and Todd Carty involved it could pay to take the 5/2 on any contestant to fall during the first live show."

Post a comment