X Factor winners snubbed from 10th anniversary

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 14 November 2013
Shayne Ward

Shayne Ward

Former 'X Factor winners' Steve Brookstein, Leon Jackson, Shayne Ward and Matt Cardle have been snubbed from the show's upcoming 10th anniversary episode

Former 'X Factor' winners including Shayne Ward and Matt Cardle have been snubbed from the show's 10th anniversary.

The reality singing competition will celebrate its 10th year on air later this month by having the latest crop of contestants perform songs by past success stories - such as One Direction and Leona Lewis - but some of the show's less successful winners will not be part of the special weekend of shows at all.

According to The Sun newspaper, none of the pop hopefuls will sing songs by winners Steve Brookstein (2004 winner), Shayne (2005), Leon Jackson (2006), or Matt Cardle (2010).

A source said: "It is a slap in the face for the winners who won't be covered.

"Bosses have obviously chosen the former stars who they think still resonate with viewers and who have had the most success."

However, a show insider added: "With such a massive roster of successful artists from the past ten years, not all winners could be included in the final song choices."

Past winners who will be represented, however, include 2006 champion Leona, Alexandra Burke (2008), Joe McElderry (2009), Little Mix (2011), and James Arthur (2012).

Successful runners-up One Direction (2010) and Olly Murs (2009) will also be covered by this year's acts and they will perform over the course of the weekend.

In addition, the former 'X Factor' stars will provide advice and support to this year's wannabes.

Post a comment