WATCH: The stop-motion video for Erasure's new single, 'Gaudete'

WATCH: stop-motion video for Erasure's 'Gaudete'

The 'Latin carol' is the first track to be released from forthcoming Christmas album Snow Globe

Iconic synth-pop duo Erasure have returned to add a dance twist to our Christmas listening.

Snow Globe, set for release on Mon 11 Nov, will be a collection of both original tracks and re-imaginings of famous seasonal songs, and is Erasure’s first album since 2011’s Tomorrow’s World.

The first single 'Gaudete' is a dancefloor-worthy take on the traditional Latin carol, and the video is a dark stop-motion piece made by animators whose previous credits include Coraline and The Nightmare Before Christmas.

Snow Globe is set to be a more wistful and subdued seasonal album, in comparison to the normal up-beat Mariah Carey-style songs that usually hit the charts in December.

Andy Bell said: ‘I told Vince [Clarke] I wanted the music to sound like shards of ice or snowflakes falling’.

A deluxe box set version of the album will also be available for dedicated fans, which will include three CDs plus a festive tree bauble, desktop calendar, postcards and a Christmas card signed by Vince and Andy. The full track-listing is as follows:

1. 'Bells of Love (Isabelle's of Love)'
2. 'Gaudete'
3. 'Make It Wonderful'
4. 'Sleep Quietly'
5. 'Silent Night'
6. 'Loving Man'
7. 'The Christmas Song'
8. 'Bleak Mid-winter'
9. 'Blood On the Snow'
10. 'There'll Be No Tomorrow'
11. 'Midnight Clear'
12. 'White Christmas'
13. 'Silver Bells'

Erasure - Gaudete