Manic Street Preachers unveil Rewind The Film

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 8 July 2013
Manic Street Preachers

Manic Street Preachers band

Manic Street Preachers have premiered their new single 'Rewind The Film', a collaboration with Richard Hawley and the title track of their new album

Manic Street Preachers have premiered their new single 'Rewind The Film'.

The 'A Design for Life' band have announced their 11th studio album, also called 'Rewind The Film', and previewed the first track from it, a six minute song featuring singer-songwriter Richard Hawley.

Recorded in their own studio, Faster, in Cardiff, the band - James Dean Bradfield, Sean Moore, Nicky Wire - liken their new album to the softer side of their back catalogue.

They said: "If this record has a relation in the Manics back catalogue, it's probably the sedate coming of age that was 'This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours'."

'Rewind The Film' also features a number of other guest stars including Nina Persson from The Cardigans, Ian McCulloch from Echo and the Bunnymen, and Lucy Rose, who sings on previously previewed track '4 Lonely Roads'.

The band have previously said the album has an "acoustic soul" sound.

Bass player Nicky said: "We haven't covered anything up with noise, like loud guitars or string sections. As a band there's nothing to hide behind. It's frightening to think how we'll play it live."

'Rewind The Film' will be released on September 16, preceded by a single, 'Show Me The Wonder' on September 9.

Manic Street Preachers

The anthemic Welsh rockers return to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Everything Must Go.

Birmingham Arena

Fri 27 Apr

prices vary / 0871 945 6000

First Direct Arena, Leeds

Wed 2 May

£37.70–£48.70 / 0844 248 1585

Manchester Arena

Sat 28 Apr

£37.70–£48.70 / 0844 847 8000

Also at:

Post a comment