Louis Smith wins 'Strictly Come Dancing'

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 22 December 2012
Louis and Flavia

Louis Smith with partner Flavia Cacace

Louis Smith has been crowed the winner of 'Strictly Come Dancing' 2012 after receiving the highest number of public votes

Louis Smith has been crowned the winner of 'Strictly Come Dancing'.

The 23-year-old Olympic gymnast from Peterborough and his partner Flavia Cacace topped the judges' leaderboard, whose opinions didn't count on tonight's (22.12.12) final, just behind nearest rival Denise Van Outen but scored the highest number of public votes making him the 2012 winner of the BBC reality TV series.

The silver medallist, who has wowed judges with his polished backflips and somersaults over the past 14 weeks, also beat other runner-up Kimberley Walsh to secure the ballroom dancing competition's glitterball trophy.

Louis winning performances included the 'Dr. Wanna Do' Charleston, Take That's 'Rule The World' and a 'Dirty Dancing'-themed salsa - which he performed shirtless.

Other moves which helped secure his victory included performing a handstand on top of a giant globe and lifting his partner into the air above his head.

Louis, who was this season's youngest competitor, was the bookmakers' favourite going into tonight's final and the judges admitted they were wowed by his performances.

Bruno Tonioli said: "So you finally revealed yourself. You moved like an angel with diabolical flexibility."

Darcey Bussell was equally enthusiastic, saying: "You blew me away...it had grace, fluidity and was sensual as well."

The athlete has suffered several injuries during the intense contest, and admitted he will require a knee surgery now that the competition has come to an end.

He also suffered a number of back problems throughout his career, which is why he held off performing any dramatic lifts until the final.

Dani Hammer was the first act to be voted off tonight's final after she received the fewest votes, putting her in fourth place.

The top three then went on to dance again, reprising their favourite performance from the series, before Louis was announced the winner.

This year's series also saw Jerry Hall, Lisa Riley and Fern Britton take part.

Post a comment