McCarthy awarded Edinburgh University book prize

  • 28 August 2007

American author Cormac McCarthy has been awarded the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction. He won £10,000 in the UK’s oldest literary award after The Road was named novel of the year.

The prize has been awarded by the University of Edinburgh since 1919. Byron Rogers was also recognised at the Edinburgh International Book Festival ceremony for his book about Welsh poet RS Thomas.

Authors nominated for the prize were Sarah Waters, Ray Robinson, James Lasdun, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Alice Munro.

Professor Colin Nicholson from the University of Edinburgh, a judge for the awards, commented: “Each of the shortlisted authors is prize-worthy. But my fellow judge Roger Savage agrees with me that for imaginative impact and page-turning readability, the two winning books are both destined to become classics in their respective genres.”

Post a comment