Adele leads Ivor Novello nominations

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 17 April 2012


Adele leads the way for the Ivor Novello Awards with four nominations

Adele has received four nominations for the Ivor Novello Awards.

The British singer/songwriter leads the way for this year's coveted songwriting honours with nominations for 'Rolling In The Deep' in the Best Song Musically and Lyrically category, PRS for Music Most Performed Work for 'Rolling In The Deep' and 'Someone Like You', as well as the album award for '21'.

Adele will face Ed Sheeran's 'The A Team' and Florence Welch's 'Shake It Out' in the Best Song Musically and Lyrically category.

She will battle herself and Take That's 'The Flood' in the PRS for Music Most Performed Work and Kate Bush's '50 Words For Snow' and PJ Harvey's 'Let England Shake' in the Best Album category.

Lana Del Rey's 'Video Games' is up against Nero's 'Promises' and James Blake's 'The Wilhelm Scream' in the Best Contemporary Song section of the awards.

The Ivors - which will be held on Thursday 17 May 2012 at London's Grosvenor House Hotel - also honour individuals with awards recognising their contribution to British music.

These awards including Lifetime Achievement, Outstanding Song Collection, PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music, PRS for Music Special International Award, Songwriter(s) of the Year, The Ivors Jazz Award and The Ivors Inspiration Award and will also be given out on the day of the ceremony.

57th Ivor Novello Award Nominations for the Year 2011:

Best Song Musically and Lyrically:

'Rolling In The Deep' performed by Adele, written by Adele and Paul Epworth

'Shake It Out', performed by Florence + The Machine, written by Paul Epworth , Kid Harpoon and Florence Welch

'The A Team', performed and written by Ed Sheeran

Best Contemporary Song:

'Promises' performed by Nero, written by Joseph Ray, Daniel Stephens and Alana Watson

'The Wilhelm Scream' performed by James Blake, written James Blake and James Litherland

'Video Games' performed by Lana Del Rey, written by Lana Del Rey and Justin Parker

Best Original Film Score:

'Life In A Day' composed by Harry Gregson-Williams and Matthew Herbert

'The First Grader' composed by Alex Heffes

'We Need To Talk About Kevin' composed by Jonny Greenwood

Best Television Soundtrack:

'Leonardo' composed by Mark Russell

'Page Eight' composed by Paul Englishby

'The Shadow Line' composed by Martin Phipps

PRS for Music Most Performed Work:

'Rolling In The Deep' performed by Adele, written by Adele and Paul Epworth

'Someone Like You' performed by Adele, written by Adele and Dan Wilson

'The Flood' performed by Take That, written by Gary Barlow, Howard Donald, Jason Orange , Mark Owen and Robbie Williams

Album Award:

'21' performed by Adele, written by Adele and Paul Epworth

'50 Words For Snow' performed and written by Kate Bush

'Let England Shake' performed and written by PJ Harvey


Smokey soul pop from Adele, touring he latest smash hit album 25.

Post a comment