Mark Soskin (4 stars)

Mark Soskin

One Hopeful Day

(Kind of Blue Records)


Pianist Mark Soskin has long seemed one of those musicians destined to be pretty much the perennial sideman, turning in high-class performances for a range of other leaders, from Sonny Rollins downwards. It is good, then, to see him get another chance to lead his own session, and to produce such a fine result in this sparkling disc of swinging and creative contemporary jazz.

Not that he goes in for any grand-standing. This is very much a group effort, and his intelligent, beautifully focused playing is complemented by Chris Potter’s assertive saxophone and a killer rhythm team of John Patitucci on bass and Bill Stewart on drums, with guitarist John Abercrombie as special guest on a couple of tunes. He includes three of his own compositions alongside four jazz standards and fine interpretations of Monk’s ‘Bemsha Swing’ and Chick Corea’s ‘Inner Space’.

Post a comment