2011 Inside Soap Awards shortlist revealed

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 20 September 2011
Katherine Kelly

Katherine Kelly

Katherine Kelly, Jessie Wallace, Pauline Quirke and Claire Cooper will battle it out in the hope of winning the coveted Best Actress accolade at the 2011 Inside Soap Awards

Katherine Kelly, Jessie Wallace, Pauline Quirke and Claire Cooper will battle it out for the Best Actress accolade at the 2011 Inside Soap Awards.

The 'Coronation Street' star - who is to leave the ITV1 show at the end of this year - has been given the nod for a series of explosive storylines, which have seen her feisty alter-ego Becky McDonald trash the Rovers Return pub, kidnap baby Hope and brawl with husband Steve in the street.

However, she will face stiff competition from 'Emmerdale' actress Pauline Quirke - whose character Hazel Rhodes assisted the suicide of her tetraplegic son Jackson Walsh - as well as EastEnders' Jessie Wallace for her role in the soap's controversial baby swap storyline and Claire Cooper for her part in the 'Hollyoaks' rape plot.

Meanwhile, in the Best Actor category, Chris Gascoyne - who plays Peter Barlow in 'Coronation Street' - 'Hollyoaks' villain Emmett J Scanlan, Emmerdale's Danny Miller and EastEnders' Scott Maslen will face each other in the hope of taking home the prestigious gong.

Brunette bombshell Michelle Keegan, as well as Sammy Winward, Jennifer Metcalfe and Jo Joyner will battle it out for Sexiest Female, while Danny Miller, Danny Mac, Keith Duffy and Scott Maslen - the reigning champion - will hope to be crowned Sexiest Male.

Elsewhere, Coronation Street's Bill Tarmey - who departed the soap in 2010 after 31 years on the cobbles - Lacey Turner, who played the ever-popular Stacey Branning in 'EastEnders', former 'Hollyoaks' actress Carley Stenson and Emmerdale's Marc Silcock are all up for the Best Exit accolade.

Steven Murphy, editor of Inside Soap magazine, said: "The storylines over the last year have been some of the most exciting and dramatic we've ever seen in soapland, and we're looking forward to revealing the winners at this year's ceremony."

'EastEnders', 'Coronation Street', 'Emmerdale' and 'Hollyoaks' will once again battle it out for the coveted Best Soap crown, with viewers able to vote for their favourite show at www.insidesoap.co.uk .

The 2011 Inside Soap Awards take place in London on September 26.


Best Actor (sponsored by jackpotjoy.com)

Chris Gascoyne (Peter Barlow, 'Coronation Street')

Scott Maslen (Jack Branning, 'EastEnders')

Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy, 'Emmerdale')

Emmett J Scanlan (Brendan Brady, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Actress (sponsored by jackpotjoy.com)

Katherine Kelly (Becky McDonald, 'Coronation Street')

Jessie Wallace (Kat Moon, 'EastEnders')

Pauline Quirke (Hazel Rhodes, 'Emmerdale')

Claire Cooper (Jacqui Ashworth, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Young Actor

Alex Bain (Simon Barlow, 'Coronation Street')

Maisie Smith (Tiffany Butcher, 'EastEnders')

Joe-Warren Plant (Jacob Gallagher, 'Emmerdale')

Ellis Hollins (Tom Cunningham, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Newcomer

Paula Lane (Kylie Platt, 'Coronation Street')

Steve John Shepherd (Michael Moon, 'EastEnders')

Pauline Quirke (Hazel Rhodes, 'Emmerdale')

Emmett J Scanlan (Brendan Brady, 'Hollyoaks')

Funniest Performance

Patti Clare (Mary Taylor, 'Coronation Street')

Tameka Empson (Kim Fox, 'EastEnders')

Gillian Wright (Jean Slater, 'EastEnders')

Bronagh Waugh (Cheryl Brady, 'Hollyoaks')

Sexiest Male

Keith Duffy (Ciaran McCarthy, 'Coronation Street')

Scott Maslen (Jack Branning, 'EastEnders')

Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy, 'Emmerdale')

Danny Mac (Dodger Savage, 'Hollyoaks')

Sexiest Female

Michelle Keegan (Tina McIntyre, 'Coronation Street')

Jo Joyner (Tanya Jessop, 'EastEnders')

Sammy Winward (Katie Sugden, 'Emmerdale')

Jennifer Metcalfe (Mercedes Fisher, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Exit

Bill Tarmey (Jack Duckworth, 'Coronation Street')

Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning, 'EastEnders')

Marc Silcock (Jackson Walsh, 'Emmerdale')

Carley Stenson (Steph Roach, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Wedding

Roy & Hayley Cropper ('Coronation Street')

Tamwar Masood & Afia Khan ('EastEnders')

Chas Dingle & Carl King ('Emmerdale')

Gilly Roach & Steph Cunningham ('Hollyoaks')

Best Dramatic Performance

Jane Danson (Leanne's wedding to Peter, live episode, 'Coronation Street')

Steve McFadden (Phil on drugs, 'EastEnders')

Danny Miller (Jackson's choice, 'Emmerdale')

Kieron Richardson (Ste's domestic abuse, 'Hollyoaks')

Best Daytime Soap


'Home and Away'


Best Daytime Star

Matthew Chambers (Dr Daniel Granger, 'Doctors')

Esther Anderson (Charlie Buckton, 'Home and Away')

Ryan Moloney (Toadie Rebecchi, 'Neighbours')

Jackie Woodburne (Susan Kennedy, 'Neighbours')

Best Drama


'Holby City'

'Waterloo Road'

Best Soap (sponsored by jackpotjoy.com)

'Coronation Street'




Post a comment