Take That - Progress (3 stars)

Electronics-tinged man pop is one of fastest selling records of the century

comments

This article is from 2010.

Take That - Progress

(Polydor)

By the time you read this, the now fully reunited Take That’s sixth offering will have been bought by stratospheric amounts of people. Progress is one of the fastest selling records of the century so far – a huge achievement for a once sniggered about boy band. The timing is perfect and the emotion palpable as Robbie Williams shares lead vocals with his beloved Mark Owen and not so beloved Gary Barlow over ten tracks of solid, electronics-tinged man pop. Howard Donald and Jason Orange get a look in on occasion too, but really, this album is all about the return of Williams to the fold and the brand new sound that brings.

This article is from 2010.

Take That

The prototype boy band have re-lit their own fire and returned to cash in those nostalgia dollars, and have proved far more credible than any of us could have imagined. Now reduced to a three-piece as Jason Orange bows out but Gary Barlow, Mark Owen and Howard Donald soldier on.

LG Arena, Birmingham

Mon 11 May

£55–£85 / 0844 338 8000

Tue 12 May

£55–£85 / 0844 338 8000

Thu 14 May

£55–£85 / 0844 338 8000

…and 4 more dates until 23 Jun

Manchester Arena

Thu 21 May

£55–£85 / 0844 847 8000

Fri 22 May

£55–£85 / 0844 847 8000

Sat 23 May

£55–£85 / 0844 847 8000

…and 7 more dates until 29 Jun

Metro Radio Arena, Newcastle upon Tyne

Mon 18 May

£55–£85 / 0844 493 6666

Tue 19 May

£55–£85 / 0844 493 6666

Fri 26 Jun

£55–£85 / 0844 493 6666

Thu 2 Jul

£55–£85 / 0844 493 6666

Also on at:

Take That - The Flood

Comments

Post a comment