Best Soap EastEnders

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 9 May 2010
Lacey Turner

Lacey Turner who plays Stacey Branning

'EastEnders' won 10 honours at the British Soap Awards last night (08.05.10), while 'Coronation Street' was recognised three time, 'Doctors' took home two trophies and 'Hollyoaks' and 'Emmerdale' triumphed just once each

'EastEnders' swept the board at last night's (08.05.10) British Soap Awards.

The BBC soap picked up 10 honours, including the coveted Best Soap title and Best Storyline for 'Who Killed Archie Mitchell?', which also led to recognition for several cast members.

Lacey Turner - who recently revealed she is set to leave the show - picked up Best Actress and Best Dramatic Performance for her role as Archie's killer Stacey Branning, while her on-screen husband Charlie Clements (Bradley Branning) was honoured with Best Exit for his spectacular death fall during the live show, which was also recognised as Best Singular Episode.

Larry Lamb, who played Archie until his murder on Christmas Day (25.12.09), was named Villain of the Year.

In addition, Marc Elliott was named Best Newcomer for his portrayal of gay Muslim Syed Masood, and Scott Maslen (Jack Branning) was honoured twice, with the coveted Best Actor accolade and the Sexiest Male trophy.

The show's main rival 'Coronation Street' won just three awards, with Michelle Keegan (Tina McIntyre) taking home Sexiest Female for the second year in a row.

Craig Gazey was recognised for Best Comedy Performance in his role as the show's dozy butcher Graeme Proctor, while 89-year-old actress Betty Driver - who has played barmaid Betty Williams since 1969 - was given a Lifetime Achievement award.

Despite being nominated in every category, 'Emmerdale' won just one prize, with scriptwriter Bill Lyons given a Special Achievement award.

BBC daytime show 'Doctors' saw wins for Ami Metcalf (Sapphire Cox), who took home Best Dramatic Performance from a Young Actor or Actress, and Jan Pearson and Christopher Walker - Karen and Rob Hollins - for Best On-Screen Partnership.

Channel 4 teen drama 'Hollyoaks' won Spectacular Scene of the Year for the fatal parachute jump which led to the death of Sarah Barnes (Loui Batley).

The British Soap Awards 2010 - which took place at the BBC Television Centre in London and were presented by Paul O'Grady - will transmit on Wednesday, May 19 on ITV1.

British Soap Awards 2010 winners list:

Best Soap:


Best Actor:

Scott Maslen (Jack Branning) - 'EastEnders'

Best Actress:

Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning) - 'EastEnders'

Sexiest Male:

Scott Maslen (Jack Branning) - 'EastEnders'

Sexiest Female:

Michelle Keegan (Tina McIntyre) - 'Coronation Street'

Best Dramatic Performance from a Young Actor or Actress:

Ami Metcalf (Sapphire Cox) - 'Doctors'

Best Dramatic Performance:

Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning) - 'EastEnders'

Best On-Sctreen Partnership:

Jan Pearson and Christopher Walker (Karen Hollins and Rob Hollins) - 'Doctors'

Villain of the Year:

Larry Lamb (Archie Mitchell) - 'EastEnders'

Best newcomer:

Marc Elliott (Syed Masood) - 'EastEnders'

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Betty Driver (Betty Williams) - 'Coronation Street'

Best Comedy Performance:

Craig Gazey (Graeme Proctor) - 'Coronation Street'

Best Storyline:

'Who killed Archie?' - 'EastEnders'

Best Exit:

Charlie Clements (Bradley Branning) - 'EastEnders'

Special Achievement Award:

Bill Lyons (scriptwriter) - 'Emmerdale'

Spectacular Scene of the Year:

The parachute jump - 'Hollyoaks'

Best Single Episode:

'EastEnders' Live

Post a comment