BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

  • The List
  • 18 February 2010
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Young violinist Nicola Benedetti performs an emotionally-loaded concerto from the Finnish composer, Sibelius, followed by Shostakovich’s epic Tenth Symphony. Shostakovich’s Tenth was the first the Russian composer had composed since he was denounced by Stalin’s regime in 1948.

City Halls, Glasgow, Thu 25 Feb

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra: North by North-East 2

Classical superstar Nicola Benedetti exhibits her considerable skills in Sibelius' fearsome 'Violin Concerto'. Opening the concert, Swedish composer Benjamin Staern's 'Jubilate' receives its UK premiere and finally, Shostakovich's intense 'Symphony No 10', composed shortly after Stalin's death and said to be strongly…

Post a comment