Miike Snow - Miike Snow (3 stars)

Miike Snow - Miike Snow

(Downtown Records)

The men behind Miike Snow have got a rep: two of them, Pontus Winnberg and Christian Karlsson, are better known as Bloodshy and Avant, the producer/songwriters behind songs for the likes of Kylie, Jennifer Lopez, Madonna, Kelis and the mighty ‘Toxic’ for Britney Spears.

This ambitious debut with singer Andrew Wyatt aspires to be a more dub centric, pop conscious TV on the Radio, deftly melodic, wildly harmonious and super polished but somehow still weirdly edgy. The songs are solid but often very understated and, given their knack for writing songs for purring pop ladies, Wyatt’s gentle delivery lacks width and depth and sometimes you just want them to break out and go wild but they never really do.

Sick Note

Disco, punk, indie, acid, ghettotech and R'n'B from Nick AKA, Ryan Marinelol and Floating Boy.

Post a comment