NYJOS Collective (3 stars)

NYJOS Collective

The NYJOS Collective is a ten-piece band made up of the most advanced members of the National Youth Jazz of Orchestra of Scotland, directed by Malcolm Edmonstone and Andrew Bain. They include two winners of the BBC Radio Scotland Young Jazz Musician award, saxophonist Joe Wright and the current holder, bass player Andrew Robb. Another finalist this year, pianist Peter Johnstone, leads a fine rhythm section, and the paired saxophones, trumpets and trombones provide plenty of scope for imaginative touches in the arrangements.

They have achieved a high standard of both ensemble precision and soloing in this studio recording. Two of the musicians, Wright and trombonist Kieran McLeod, also contribute compositions to a repertoire that includes tunes by Kenny Wheeler, Dave Holland and Herbie Hancock’s arrangement of Prince’s ‘Thieves in the Temple’, as well as classic staples in Clifford Brown’s ‘Joy Spring’ and Victor Feldman’s ‘Seven Steps to Heaven’.

Available from www.nyos.co.uk


Post a comment