Jarman Awards shortlist announced

Lindsay Seers

Lindsay Seers

Visual art takes the spotlight this month, as the shortlist for the Jarman Awards is announced.

It may just be its second outing, but since its launch on the scene in 2008, the Jarman Awards have quickly established themselves as an accolade with clout. Established last year, and inspired by avant-garde film-maker Derek Jarman, the awards were devised to offer recognition and support to artists working with the moving image and whose work, like Jarman’s, resists conventional definition.

Last year’s line-up saw Glasgow talent Luke Fowler pick up the gong, affording him the £10,000 cash prize and a broadcast commission to make four artworks for Channel 4’s acclaimed Three Minute Wonder Slot (3MW).

This year’s short-listed artists are Anja Kirschner & David Panos, Simon Martin, Lindsay Seers and Stephen Sutcliffe. The winner will be chosen following screening and performance showcases at the CCA in Glasgow, Picture This in Bristol and Whitechapel Gallery in London.

Adrian Wootton, Chief Executive of Film London, said of the awards: ‘It is the second year Film London has run these very important Awards with Channel 4 and yet again we have another fantastic shortlist. The Jarman Award is excellent at selecting talent, as proved by Luke Fowler’s success following
his win last year. I’m delighted we are working with the Whitechapel Gallery this year – their wonderful spaces are the perfect place to showcase work from these talented artists to the public and to celebrate the Jarman Award.’

Stuart Comer, from this year’s Jarman Award judging panel said: ‘Chairing award this year made abundantly clear that the UK has become one of the most important forums for the production and discussion of artists’ moving image work. This year’s list of artists presented an embarrassment of riches.’
Last year’s winner Fowler added, ‘The Jarman Award helps to reignite a lost or broken connection between adventurous, experimental cinema and a wider public. Following in the footsteps of Derek Jarman – whose work exploded with innovative energy and yet refused to be consigned to an avant-garde cul de sac – this much needed “hand up” attempts to raise the public profile of film as a form.’

Information about each of the shortlisted artists, including extracts, biographies and jury comments, can be viewed at www.filmlondon.org.uk/jarmanaward.

Luke Fowler’s 3MW’s can be viewed on the Channel 4 website: www.channel4.com

Post a comment