Sound Festival

Piano Circus

Sounding off

As the sound festival announces its programme, The List finds James Macmillan’s 50th birthday is just the start of it

Following its success last year, the sound festival has launched its programme boasting over 60 performances and events. The music fest line-up will include a special celebration of the work by the festival’s patron, James MacMillan to mark his 50th birthday, as well as sound residencies, special commission compositions inspired by artworks by Nathan Coley, Damien Hirst and Alison Watt, a dance strand and an ode to Burns.

Programme Co-ordinator, Fiona Robertson said of the line-up: ‘As in previous years we have brought together a large range of different genres of new music to appeal to a wide variety of tastes.

‘Our aim is to encourage people to discover new sounds and to widen their musical horizons. This year we have two contrasting themed weekends, as well as World, UK and Scottish premieres.’

The festival, which kicks off at the end of October and runs for a month, will open in the Beach Ballroom with a performance by the Piano Circus. The festival’s first sound residency welcomes Rohan de Saram, Roberto Fabbriciani, Richard Craig and Tadej Kenig. MacMillan will give the inaugural sound festival lecture. As part of an experimental music weekend (5–8 Nov), Mark Wastell, Burkhard Beins, Will Guthrie, and Bill Thompson will discuss the crossover between percussion and live electronics.

To showcase the sound festival residency (12–15 Nov), Tadej Kenig and Sri Lankan born British cellist Rohan de Saram will perform new works written specifically for them by the Scottish-based composers Pippa Murphy, Oliver Searle, Gareth Williams and Paul Tierney, inspired by a work in the permanent collection of Aberdeen Art Gallery.

The Dance Live strand features Michael Popper & Nigel Osborne’s Remebering … Forgetting, while the Burns element features a concert of music by the Primrose Quartet, with contributions by James MacMillan, Sally Beamish, Anthony Payne, Piers Hellawell, Peter Fribbens and Jacques Cohen.

For further information see visit