French and Saunders' BAFTA honour

  • Bang Showbiz
  • 27 April 2009
Jennifer Saunders

Jennifer Saunders was honoured at the BAFTAs

Comic duo Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders received an Academy Fellowship for their "outstanding body of work" at the BAFTA TV Awards at London's Royal Festival Hall last night (26.04.09)

Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders were presented with an Academy Fellowship at the BAFTA TV Awards last night (26.04.09).

The comedy duo - who are most famous for their sketch show 'French and Saunders' - received the prestigious award in front of a star-studded audience at London's Royal Festival Hall.

The Fellowship is the highest honour the Academy can bestow. Previous recipients include Sir David Frost, Dame Judi Dench and Richard Curtis.

Other winners at the show included Sir David Attenborough, who won the Specialist Factual category for his nature documentary 'Life In Cold Blood', a study of the evolution and habits of amphibians and reptiles - nearly 50 years after he took home the first of his eight BAFTAs.

Harry Hill scooped the gong for Entertainment Performance for the second year in a row, pipping Jonathan Ross - who was suspended by the BBC for three months last year after making lewd phonecalls to veteran actor Jonathan Ross - to the honour.

June Brown, 82, 'EastEnders' was also overlooked, despite being favourite to win the Actress award for her portrayal of 'EastEnders' stalwart Dot Cotton.

The prize went to newcomer Anna Maxwell Martin for her part in 'Poppy Shakespeare'.

In a shock result, police drama 'The Bill' took home the Continuing Drama prize for the first time in its 25-year history - months after programme chiefs announced it was being slashed to one episode a week in a bid to cut costs.

'The X Factor' won best Entertainment Programme for the third time, with the programme's host Dermot O'Leary attributing this year's success to the popularity of new judge Cheryl Cole.

This year's star-studded awards ceremony was presented by Graham Norton.

2009 BAFTA TV Awards winners:

Actor: Stephen Dillane, 'The Shooting of Thomas Hurndall (Channel 4)

Actress: Anna Maxwell Martin, 'Poppy Shakespeare (Channel 4)

Entertainment: Harry Hill, 'Harry Hill's TV Burp' (ITV1)

Entertainment Programme: 'The X Factor' (ITV1)

Comedy Performance: David Mitchell, 'Peep Show' (Channel 4)

Comedy Programme: 'Harry and Paul' (BBC1)

Situation Comedy: 'The IT Crowd' (Channel 4)

Drama: 'White Girl' (BBC2)

Drama Serial: 'Criminal Justice' (BBC1)

Drama Series: 'Wallander' (BBC1)

Continuing Drama: 'The Bill' (ITV1)

International: 'Mad Men' (BBC 4)

Interactivity: 'Embarrassing Bodies Online' (Channel 4)

Factual Series: 'Amazon with Bruce Parry' (BBC2)

Specialist Factual: 'Life in Cold Blood' (BBC1)

Single Documentary: 'Chosen, True Stories' (Channel 4)

Features: 'The Choir' (BBC2)

Current Affairs: 'Dispatches' (Channel 4)

News Coverage: 'News at Ten' (ITV1)

Sport: 'F1 Brazilian Grand Prix 2008' (ITV1)

Audience Award: 'Skins' (Channel 4)

Fellowship: Dawn French and Jennifer Saunders

Post a comment