Word Up - club news

  • The List
  • 12 February 2007

Word Up

The latest club news

Red Vodka Bar in Edinburgh’s Cowgate is to be taken over by Sarah David (Cabaret Voltaire) and Michael McGuigan. Not only are the pair promising a new DJ line-up seven days a week, they are to become an official partner with (RED), the organisation set up by Bono to fight AIDS in Africa. 10% of all gross takings will now go to the fund in this permanent move, the first commercial bar in Scotland, if not the world, to enter into such an arrangement.

Urban Nightclub in Dunfermline is starting a new roster of quality names for Fife revellers. Slam and Silicone Soul guest Friday 16 February; Progression goes head to head with We Are . . . Electric, Friday 23 February; Sister Bliss (tbc), Friday 2 March; Ultragroove’s Gareth Sommervile, Friday 9 March, Timo Maas, Friday 16 March, Jon Mancini and Smokey & the Bandit , Friday 23 March. They also host a Hed Kandi party on Friday 30 March.

The Knockengorroch World Ceilidh 2007, Friday 18-Tuesday 20 May, has announced some of their line-up. So what’s this got to do with clubs? Well, alongside the likes of Lunasa and The Tannahill Weavers, Knockengorroch has signed up Mr Scruff (pictured), Transglobal Underground and Zion Train, upping their commitment to global beats. For full details log onto www.knockengorroch. org.uk.

In further festival news The Orb, Eat Static and Jah Wobble are on the bill for the Wickerman Festival, Friday 20-Saturday 21 July, East Kirkcarswell Farm. For full details go to www.thewickermanfestival.co.uk. Rockness is also back on the banks of Loch Ness, expanding to two days, Saturday 9-Sunday 10 June. Fatboy Slim rocked the gig last year but there’s no news on headliners as yet.

Finally the John Digweed date scheduled for Cabaret Voltaire, Thursday 22 February, has been cancelled. A new date in April is hopefully on the cards.

Comments

Post a comment