Edinburgh Summer Sessions 2020 lineup announced

Edinburgh Summer Sessions 2020 lineup announced

Tom Jones at Edinburgh Summer Sessions 2018 / credit: Ryan Johnston

Tom Jones, Lionel Richie, Michael Kiwanuka, The 1975 and more head to Princes Street Gardens

Tom Jones, Lionel Richie, Michael Kiwanuka, The 1975, McFly, Simple Minds and Travis are set to headline Edinburgh Summer Sessions in Princes Street Gardens this August. Tickets for all dates go on sale at 9am on Fri 31 Jan.

The festival returns for its third year in 2020 with Tom Jones returning to perform at his second Summer Seasons on Sat 8 Aug. Fans can expect a showcase of hits from his illustrious career including fan favourites 'It's Not Unusual', 'What's New Pussycat' and 'She's A Lady'. From one music legend to another, Lionel Richie headlines on Sun 9 Aug for what be his first Edinburgh gig in five years.

Two-time 2020 Brit Award nominee Michael Kiwanuka performs on Tue 11 Aug. The London-born singer-songwriter has had a trailblazing couple of years and fans can expect to hear hits from his broadly acclaimed self-titled third album and old hits like 'Home Again'.

Following Kiwanuka on Wed 12 Aug are Manchester rock band The 1975 who have similarly been making waves of late winning an Ivor Novello Award, three Brit Awards and bagged two Grammy Awards nominations among a long list of others. The group will be preceded by the recently reunited 00s pop-punk trio McFly on Thu 13 Aug and Scottish mainstay act Simple Minds who bring hits from their 18 albums to the gardens on Tue 18 Aug. Fellow Scottish band Travis round off the 2020 edition of Edinburgh Summer Sessions on Thu 20 Aug.

Edinburgh Summer Sessions 2020 lineup:
Sat 8 Aug – Tom Jones
Mon 10 Aug – Tom Jones (NEW DATE on sale 10am Fri 14 Feb)
Sun 9 Aug – Lionel Richie
Tue 11 Aug – Michael Kiwanuka
Wed 12 Aug – The 1975
Thu 13 Aug – McFly
Tue 18 Aug – Simple Minds
Thu 20 Aug – Travis

Tickets for Edinburgh Summer Sessions 2020 go on sale at 9am on Fri 31 Jan.

Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the information displayed here is accurate, always check with the venue before attending (especially during the Covid-19 pandemic).

Lionel Richie

The slick soul funk maestro started in the Commodores doing funky hits such as 'Machine Gun', then went solo in the 80s and made it mega-big. He's kept the soul flame burning, written some of the most memorable songs of the last 40 years and received the Kennedy Center Honors in 2017. A living legend.

Blenheim Palace, Woodstock

Sun 19 Jun 2022

Prices to be confirmed / 01993 810530

Bristol City Centre

Wed 15 Jun 2022

Prices to be confirmed

Cardiff Castle

Thu 2 Jun 2022

£75.60 / 029 2087 8100

Also at:


Pop with a punky edge from the four-piece who have outgrown their boyband roots.

Gloucester Park

Fri 10 Jun 2022


Sun 10 Jul 2022


Lincolnshire Showground

Fri 8 Jul 2022

£54.45 / 01522 522900

The O2 Arena, London SE10

Sun 21 Nov

Times & prices to be confirmed / 0844 856 0202

Also at:

Michael Kiwanuka

Soulful London singer-songwriter who topped the BBC's Sound of 2012 poll and won the 2020 Mercury Prize for his self-titled third album.

Alexandra Palace, London N22

Wed 25 May 2022

Sold out / 020 8365 2121

Bonus Arena, Hull

Sat 14 May 2022

£33.75–£42.55 / 01482 456220

Brighton Centre

Fri 20 May 2022

£37.50–£45 / 0844 847 1515

Also at:

Tom Jones

Big show from the perma-tanned Welsh lothario. Expect the iconic singer to perform all his hits from 'Green, Green Grass of Home' to 'What's New Pussycat'.

AO Arena, Manchester

Mon 6 Dec

£0–£260 / 0844 847 8000

Utilita Arena Birmingham

Wed 8 Dec

£45–£260 / 0871 945 6000

Bitts Park, Carlisle

Sun 24 Jul 2022

£5.60–£315 / 01288 625545

Also at:


Popular Scottish band who hit it big in the late nineties.

Albert Hall, Manchester

Tue 17 May 2022

£38.50 / 0161 817 3490

Cambridge Corn Exchange

Tue 10 May 2022

£38.50 / 01223 357851

The Forum, Bath

Thu 12 May 2022

£30.25–£49.50 / 0844 888 9991

Also at:

The 1975

Sweeping indie rock from the Manchester four-piece. The 1975 are Matthew Healy (lead vocals), Adam Hann (lead guitar), Ross MacDonald (bass) and George Daniel (drums).