Shortlist for the 2019 Scottish Album of the Year Award announced

Shortlist for the 2019 Scottish Album of the Year Award announced

Free Love

Ten outstanding albums have been revealed as part of the Shortlist for Scotland's national music prize

The Shortlist for the 2019 Scottish Album of the Year, comprised of ten outstanding albums, has been narrowed down from the Longlist of 20 albums, and the original total of 293 submissions. Nine of the albums included on the Shortlist were chosen by the SAY Award judging panel, while one was selected by music fans in an online public vote.

'A huge congratulations to the ten albums making up The SAY Award Shortlist for 2019,' said Robert Kilpatrick, General Manager of the SMIA. 'This year's Shortlist presents an incredibly exciting and eclectic snapshot of the strength of Scotland's recorded output, and we're delighted to celebrate, promote and reward the incredible works of Scottish artists as we approach this year's ceremony at The Assembly Rooms in Edinburgh.'

The judging panel will reconvene to determine which of the ten shortlisted albums will win the Scottish Album of the Year award. The panel of judges is comprised of 11 tastemakers from across the creative industries and features a 50:50 gender split. The SAY Award places artistic merit above all else and is well-respected amongst artists and within the Scottish music industry.

Each shortlisted album has won a £1,000 prize from Creative Scotland and will receive a special commemorative art prize, created by The SAY Award Design Commission. The winner of Scottish Album of the Year will take home a total of £20,000 awarded by Creative Scotland and will be announced at the final ceremony event on Fri 6 Sep at Edinburgh's Assembly Rooms.

Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award shortlist 2019:

Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Here Lies The Body
Andrew Wasylyk – The Paralian
Auntie Flo – Radio Highlife
C Duncan – Health
Carla J. Easton – Impossible Stuff
Fergus McCreadie Trio – Turas
Free Love – Luxury Hits
Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart & Inge Thomson – Laws of Motion
Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake The Want Is
Mastersystem – Dance Music (winner of the public vote)

Past winners include Young Fathers' Cocoa Sugar (2018), Sacred Paws' Strike A Match (2017), Anna Meredith's Varmints (2016), Kathryn Joseph's Bones You Have Thrown Me And Blood I've Spilled (2015), Young Fathers' Tape Two (2014), RM Hubbert's Thirteen Lost & Found (2013) and the inaugural winner Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat's Everything's Getting Older (2012).

The SAY Award ceremony, Assembly Rooms, Edinburgh, Fri 6 Sep,