Longlist for the 2019 Scottish Album of the Year Award announced

Longlist for the 2019 Scottish Album of the Year Award announced

Carla J. Easton / credit: Brian Sweeney

Twenty outstanding albums have been announced as part of the longlist for Scotland's national music prize

The SAY Award longlist was announced tonight in front of a live audience at The Queen's Hall in Edinburgh. The evening was hosted by Vic Galloway and Nicola Meighan, and also featured performances from C Duncan, Kobi Onyame and a collaboration between Idlewild's Rod Jones and Modern Studies. Proceeds from the event supported charity partner Help Musicians Scotland.

The SAY Award is a Scottish Music Industry Association (SMIA) production and this year, the organisation received an impressive 293 submissions for the coveted prize. The submissions were then narrowed down to just 20 albums by 100 impartial music industry nominators who voted on their favourite records of the year.

SMIA announced that both this year's SAY Award nominators list and judging panel feature a 50:50 gender split, an important milestone for the Scottish music industry.

'Each year, the announcement of The SAY Award longlist allows us to take a step back and feel proud of our cultural identity as a nation,' said Robert Kilpatrick, General Manager of the SMIA. 'It gives us a chance to both shout about and reflect on who we are, as well as celebrate the passion, creativity and vibrancy of Scottish music; in all its incredible diversity and glory.'

Since its launch in 2012, the SAY Award has become Scotland's most sought-after music prize. The winner takes home £20,000, awarded by Creative Scotland, while nine runners-up each earn £1,000. The SAY Award places artistic merit above all else and is well-respected amongst artists and within the Scottish music industry.

Following an online public vote, the shortlist of ten albums will be announced on Thu 15 Aug as part of a special BBC Radio Scotland show at 9pm. The winner of the SAY Award will be announced at the final event on Fri 6 Sep at Edinburgh's Assembly Rooms.

Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award longlist 2019:

Aidan Moffat and RM Hubbert – Here Lies The Body
Aidan O'Rourke – 365: Volume One
Andrew Wasylyk – The Paralian
Auntie Flo – Radio Highlife
Brighde Chaimbeul – The Reeling
C Duncan – Health
Carla J. Easton – Impossible Stuff
CHVRCHES – Love Is Dead
Edwyn Collins – Badbea
Fatherson – Sum Of All Your Parts
Fergus McCreadie Trio – Turas
Free Love – Luxury Hits
Graham Costello's STRATA – OBELISK
Karine Polwart with Steven Polwart and Inge Thomson– Laws of Motion
Kathryn Joseph – From When I Wake The Want Is
Kinnaris Quintet – Free One
Mastersystem – Dance Music
Niteworks – Air Fàir an Là
Sean Shibe – softLOUD
The Twilight Sad – It Won/t Be Like This All The Time

Past winners include Young Fathers' Cocoa Sugar (2018), Sacred Paws' Strike A Match (2017), Anna Meredith's Varmints (2016), Kathryn Joseph's Bones You Have Thrown Me And Blood I've Spilled (2015), Young Fathers' Tape Two (2014), RM Hubbert's Thirteen Lost & Found (2013) and the inaugural winner Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat's Everything's Getting Older (2012).

The SAY Award ceremony, Assembly Rooms, Edinburgh, Fri 6 Sep, sayaward.com