Where to see American Idiot the musical? How to get tickets

Where to see American Idiot the musical? How to get tickets

Green Day inspired musical is touring the UK in 2019

American Idiot is returning for massive UK tour in 2019, celebrating the show's 10th anniversary, and 15 years since the release of the award winning, multi-million selling album. Tickets for the show's performances in Edinburgh, Manchester, Birmingham, Brighton, Wimbledon and Glasgow go on sale at 10am on Fri 6 Apr, through ATG.

The tour kicks off at Dunstable's Grove Theatre on Thu 17 Jan, with the show running across the country throughout the first half of 2019, taking in shows at Edinburgh Playhouse, Manchester's Palace Theatre, Birmingham's New Alexandra Theatre and Glasgow's Kings Theatre.

Based on the Green Day album of the same name, American Idiot is the story of three childhood friends, searching for meaning and identity in a post 9/11 world of conflict and aggression. It's a tale that feels especially relevant in the context of America today, where school children are standing up to protest against gun violence, demanding change.

Included in the musical are the hit songs 'Boulevard of Broken Dreams', 'Wake Me Up When September Ends' and 'Holiday' and the album's title track 'American Idiot' itself. Tracks from the album's follow up 21st Century Breakdown like '21 Guns' are featured too.

The full cast is still to be announced; but American Idiot is not to be missed, especially for fans of Green Day and their rousing, anthemic music.

American Idiot 2019 UK tour dates:
Thu 17 - Sat 19 Jan – Grove Theatre, Dunstable
Tue 22 - Sat 26 Jan – Mayflower Theatre, Southampton
Tue 29 - Sat 2 Feb – New Theatre, Cardiff
Tue 5 - Sat 9 Feb – Playhouse, Edinburgh
Tue 5 - Sat 9 Mar – Winter Gardens, Blackpool
Tue 26 - Sat 30 Mar – Lyceum Theatre, Sheffield
Tue 2 - Sat 6 Apr – Palace Theatre, Manchester
Tue 9 - Sat 13 Apr – New Alexandra Theatre, Birmingham
Tue 16 - Sat 20 Apr – Theatre Royal, Brighton
Tue 7- Sat 11 May – Bridlington Spa Theatre
Tue 14 - Sat 18 May – New Wimbledon Theatre
Tue 28 May - Sat 1 Jun – Kings Theatre, Glasgow

Tickets for American Idiot in Edinburgh, Manchester, Birmingham, Brighton, Wimbledon and Glasgow go on sale at 10am on Fri 6 Apr, through ATG.

Green Day's American Idiot

Green Day's rock musical celebrates its 10th anniversary. Ages 18+.

ADC Theatre, Cambridge

Tue 26 Mar

£12–£15 (£9–£12) / 01223 300085

Wed 27 Mar

£12–£15 (£9–£12) / 01223 300085

Thu 28 Mar

£12–£15 (£9–£12) / 01223 300085

…and 2 more dates until 30 Mar

Gaiety Theatre, Dublin

Fri 22 Mar

€20–€48.50

Sat 23 Mar

€20–€48.50

His Majesty's Theatre, Aberdeen

Tue 18 Jun

£19.50–£48.50 / 01224 641122

Wed 19 Jun

£19.50–£48.50 / 01224 641122

Thu 20 Jun

£19.50–£48.50 / 01224 641122

…and 2 more dates until 22 Jun

Also at:

Post a comment