Kings Theatre

Kings Theatre
Kings Theatre
Albert Road, Southsea, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO5 2QJ

Jump to times or comments

The dignified and beautiful Kings Theatre with its Italian Renaissance style of decor is one of the most elegant Edwardian playhouses in the British Isles. The Kings Theatre is the primary theatre in the city of Portsmouth, seating 1600 people and providing a vast and exciting programme for its valued patrons, playing host to touring West End productions.

The Kings is situated on the corner of Albert Road and Exmouth Road in Southsea among a hub of activities – shops, salons, bars, restaurants and art galleries.

Text supplied by third party.

Event times

There are 45 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

10cc Plus Support

Among the most inventive and influential bands in the history of popular music, 10cc are one of the very few acts to have achieved commercial, critical and creative success in equal measure.

Tue 21 Oct

£7.50 / 02392 828282

5, 4, 3, 2, 1

5,4,3,2,1 - It's The Manfreds In Concert Maximum Rhythm & Blues.

Fri 7 Nov

£23.50–£25.50 / 02392 828282

69 Shades Of Black

Starring Gail Porter as Christina Black.

Fri 22 May 2015

£18 / 02392 828282

The Accrington Pals

  • Directed by: Louis Harberton

A production of the popular play set on the eve of the First World War, when the young men of Accrington hear Kitchener's call for a New Army and become the smallest town in England to raise a Pals Volunteer Brigade.

Thu 20 Nov

Fri 21 Nov

Sat 22 Nov

Aladdin

Classic Christmas pantomime about the young street urchin and his genie pal. Starring Blue's Antony Costa as Aladdin and Marcus Patrick as the Genie of the Ring.

Tue 9 Dec

Times to be confirmed / £19.50–£25.50 / 02392 828282

Wed 10 Dec

Times to be confirmed / £19.50–£25.50 / 02392 828282

Thu 11 Dec

Times to be confirmed / £19.50–£25.50 / 02392 828282

…and 9 more dates until 20 Dec back to top

Aladdin Christmas Panto

Aladdin - Christmas Panto 2014

Tue 9 Dec

£19.50–£25.50 / 02392 828282

Wed 10 Dec

£19.50–£25.50 / 02392 828282

Thu 11 Dec

£19.50–£25.50 / 02392 828282

…and 9 more dates until 20 Dec

Alan Davies: Little Victories

Sharp and inventive wit from the QI regular, award-winning actor and former Jonathan Creek and Whites star.

Sat 27 Sep

Aled Jones

Mothers' favourite, TV presenter and former choir boy Aled Jones performs a mix of inspirational songs.

Tue 4 Nov

£27.50 / 02392 828282

Andy And Mike's… Tick Tock Time Machine (Over 3s)

Andy Day and comedy partner Mike James present a lively children's show in which they discover a mysterious machine that takes them on a whistle-stop journey through time.

Sun 19 Oct

Avenue Q

Muppet/puppet musical tale – packed full of risqué songs – pondering what one can really do with their BA in English.

Mon 8 Sep

£20.50–£24 / 02392 828282

Tue 9 Sep

£20.50–£24 / 02392 828282

Wed 10 Sep

£20.50–£24 / 02392 828282

…and 2 more dates until 12 Sep back to top

Avenue Q

An X-rated Sesame Street, this show follows the inhabitants of a run-down area of New York as they struggle with life, love and what to do with your BA in English. Some scenes may be unsuitable for children under 12.

Mon 8 Sep

02392 828282

Fri 12 Sep

02392 828282

The Bohemians: Queen Tribute

Rob Combers leads the Queen tribute act in a high energy two-hour show with full staging, lighting, backdrops and pyrotechnics.

Fri 26 Sep

£18 / 02392 828282

Buddy Holly

Make your Heartbeat a little faster with this show.

Tue 30 Sep

£19.50 / 02392 828282

Buddy Holly & The Cricketers

Rock'n'rollercoaster of a show featuring all the timeless classics from a band who have been on the tribute trail for 20 years.

Tue 30 Sep

Copacabana

  • Directed by: Thom Southerland
  • Written by: Barry Manilow (music)

Barry Manilow's musical romp where music and passion are always the fashion.

Mon 6 Oct

£26–£29 (£23–£27) / 02392 828282

Tue 7 Oct

£26–£29 (£23–£27) / 02392 828282

Wed 8 Oct

£26–£29 (£23–£27) / 02392 828282

…and 3 more dates until 11 Oct

Dancing in the Streets

Spectacular Motown celebration of some the world's most entertaining and enduring songs.

Wed 5 Nov

£22.50–£26.50 / 02392 828282

Dawn French: 30 Million Minutes

  • Directed by: Michael Grandage
  • Written by: Dawn French

Much-loved comedian (and writer and actor) out on a solo tour with a show about the lessons life has taught her. Best known as half of French & Saunders, French also played the titular Vicar of Dibley, hosted Dawn French's Girls Who Do Comedy, has popped up on stage and on the silver screen, plus was the face of…

Fri 24 Oct

Sat 25 Oct

The Definitive Rat Pack

The Rat Pack epitomised cool in the 1960's.

Thu 18 Sep

£24 / 02392 828282

back to top

Dirty Dusting

Three senior cleaning ladies embark on a brand new business venture together – a telephone sex line.

Fri 3 Oct

£20 / 02392 828282

The Dreamboys

The ultimate ladies night featuring some of the best looking boys in an all male glamour extravaganza.

Thu 21 May 2015

£13.50–£15 / 02392 828282

The Drifters

The veteran vocal harmony group celebrate over 60 years of The Drifters with hits including 'Under the Broadway', 'Saturday Night at the Movies’ and ‘Up on the Roof’.

Thu 2 Oct

£23–£25 / 02392 828282

Fiddler on The Roof

Fiddler On The Roof remains one of the most popular musicals of all time.

Wed 12 Nov

£10 / 02392 828282

Thu 13 Nov

£10 / 02392 828282

Fri 14 Nov

£10 / 02392 828282

Sat 15 Nov

£10 / 02392 828282

The Fureys & Davey Arthur

The Irish legends perform with Davey Arthur.

Sun 19 Apr 2015

£18–£20 / 02392 828282

back to top

Fused!

Local dancers from Flavio De Brito, Tango De Noches dancers, Giselle Academy School Of Dance, 3 J's and Most Wanted perform contemporary, urban and traditional dance styles.

Sun 7 Sep

£10 (£8) / 02392 828282

House of Burlesque

One of the biggest events of its kind in the UK.

Sun 5 Oct

£13.50–£15.50 / 02392 828282

Jethro

Risqué humour from the West Country comic.

Sat 13 Sep

£19.50 / 02392 828282

Jon Richardson: Nidiot

Wry observations and pessimistic humour from the 8 out of 10 Cats star.

Mon 22 Sep

£19.50 / 02392 828282

Kiss Me Kate: Portsmouth Grammar School

  • Written by: Sam (book)

The story follows the backstage dramas and relationships amongst a company putting on a musical version of Shakespeare's The Taming Of The Shrew.

Thu 27 Nov

£10–£12 (£6) / 02392 828282

Fri 28 Nov

£10–£12 (£6) / 02392 828282

Sat 29 Nov

£10–£12 (£6) / 02392 828282

back to top

Madama Butterfly

Puccini - Madama Butterfly

Sat 4 Oct

£24 / 02392 828282

The Manfreds

Rock and blues with a twist of jazz.

Fri 7 Nov

£22.50–£25.50 / 02392 828282

Marty Wilde's Party

Marty Wilde's Rock 'N' Roll Party.

Sat 8 Nov

£17 / 02392 828282

Michael Palin: Travelling To Work

To celebrate his third volume of diaries being published, Palin looks back on 25 years of travelling the world and almost 50 years of popping up on radio, TV and film. Palin is best known for Monty Python with John Cleese, Eric Idle, Terry Jones, Terry Gilliam and the late Graham Chapman. Between movies, he also…

Fri 19 Sep

The Nutcracker

Family oriented production featuring a large live orchestra with over 30 musicians.

Sun 16 Nov

£19–£32 / 02392 828282

back to top

One Night of Elvis: Lee 'Memphis' King

An evening in the company of top Elvis impersonator Lee 'Memphis' King, performing a selection of Presley's hip-shaking greatest hits.

Sat 24 Jan 2015

The Singular Exploits Of Sherlock Holmes

A theatrical performance as opposed to storytelling as Holmes recounts the highlights of his career, details his life and times, the adversaries he has faced and mysteries he has solved.

Sun 19 Oct

Wedgewood Rooms

£10 (£8) / 02392 828282

Sister Act

From the Company that brought you the smash hit production Grease.

Tue 14 Oct

£13 / 02392 828282

Wed 15 Oct

£13 / 02392 828282

Thu 16 Oct

£13 / 02392 828282

Fri 17 Oct

£13 / 02392 828282

Sixties Gold: 50th Anniversary Show

Stars of the most swingin' decade of them all perform their golden hits. Featuring Gerry & the Pacemakers, The Searchers, PJ Proby, The Fortunes and Brian Poole & Chip Hawkes.

Mon 20 Oct

£29.50 / 02392 828282

Swinging At Cotton Club

Swinging at the Cotton Club Featuring: The Jiving Lindy Hoppers

Sun 26 Oct

£16 / 02392 828282

back to top

That'll Be the Day

Step back in time with a brand new edition of the popular touring show, and hear rock'n'roll hits from the 50s, 60s and 70s.

Fri 12 Dec

£21–£25 / 02392 828282

Christmas show.

Sat 4 Oct

£6 (Children £1) / 02392 828282

Tour Of The Universe (Over 8s)

Join rocket scientist Neil Phillipson, Jane Green and Chris Lintott for a whistle-stop tour of all that Space has to offer.

Tue 28 Oct

£18 (£15; £14) / 02392 828282

La Traviata

A tragic tale of searing passion and memorable music.

Sat 7 Feb 2015

£24 / 02392 828282

United We Stand

  • Directed by: Louise Townsend
  • Written by: Neil Gore

A playabout the true events that led to the imprisonment of building workers Des Warren and Eric Tomlinson (better known as Ricky Tomlinson from The Royle Family).

Mon 10 Nov

£12 (£10; £9) / 02392 828282

Comments & ratings

Post a comment