Music, Folk, Festival

85 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo

This unique event that draws crowds (and performers) from all over the world with massed pipes and drums, massed military bands, display teams, dancers and the haunting lament of the Lone Piper set against the magnificent backcloth of Edinburgh Castle.

Edinburgh Castle

Fri 1 Aug

Times vary / £25–£62 / 0131 225 1188

Sat 2 Aug

Times vary / £25–£62 / 0131 225 1188

Sun 3 Aug

Times vary / £25–£62 / 0131 225 1188

…and 20 more dates until 23 Aug

FyneFest

Beer is the star at Fyne Ales brewery with over 100 different beers from the UK’s best breweries available over the weekend, accompanied by an equally tempting music programme and food from a range of local producers (local as in venison burgers from the estate and fresh oysters collected from the loch).

Fyne Ales, Cairndow

Fri 13 Jun

Times to be confirmed / £15–£25 until April 30; after £20–£30 (under 16s free) / 01499 600120

Sat 14 Jun

Times to be confirmed / £15–£25 until April 30; after £20–£30 (under 16s free) / 01499 600120

Sun 15 Jun

Times to be confirmed / £15–£25 until April 30; after £20–£30 (under 16s free) / 01499 600120

Best of the West Festival

Set in the stunning venue of the grounds of Inveraray Castle, this family-friendly festival highlights the best in food, drink, craft, music and entertainments from the West of Scotland. From fine crafts to fine food and from local pipe bands to world-famous headline music acts, the programme offers something for…

Inveraray Castle, Argyll

Sat 13 Sep

Prices vary / 01499 302203

  • 11:00 – 19:30

Sun 14 Sep

Prices vary / 01499 302203

  • 11:00 – 18:30

Cottier Chamber Project

Now in its fourth year, the Cottier Chamber Project is a lively, genre-hopping festival unto itself in the wider orbit of Glasgow's West End Festival. Hosted by the enterprising chamber group Daniel's Beard, it brings top-flight professional chamber musicians to the West End and promotes chamber music, jazz, nu-folk and…

Various venues: Glasgow

Fri 6 Jun

Times & prices vary

Sat 7 Jun

Times & prices vary

Sun 8 Jun

Times & prices vary

…and 12 more dates until 20 Jun

Fringe by the Sea

With a spot of sea air and an entertaining line-up of music, comedy, theatre, film, author and children’s events, North Berwick's multi-arts festival offers a respite from the madness of Edinburgh in festival season.

Various Venues, North Berwick

Mon 4 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01620 890787

Tue 5 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01620 890787

Wed 6 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01620 890787

…and 4 more dates until 10 Aug back to top

Glasgow Loves Hogmanay

A programme of family activities for the daytime and early evening of Hogmanay, including traditional music, children’s activities and Scottish food and drink.

George Square, Glasgow

Wed 31 Dec

Times & prices to be confirmed

Tummel and Tay Festival

A brand new festival paying homage to the golden nectar, spread across three venues: The Birks Cinemain Aberfeldy; Birnam Arts in Dunkeld; and Pitlochry Festival Theatre. There's also a spot of film, music and theatre – including screenings of Whisky Galore and music from Peatbog Faeries and Rant – to round out the affair.

Birks Cinema, Aberfeldy

Fri 23 May

Times & prices vary / 01887 829141

Sat 24 May

Times & prices vary / 01887 829141

Sun 25 May

Times & prices vary / 01887 829141

Birnam Arts & Conference Centre

Fri 23 May

Times & prices vary / 01350 727674

Sat 24 May

Times & prices vary / 01350 727674

Sun 25 May

Times & prices vary / 01350 727674

Pitlochry Festival Theatre

Fri 23 May

Times & prices vary / 01796 484626

Sat 24 May

Times & prices vary / 01796 484626

Sun 25 May

Times & prices vary / 01796 484626

Also on at:

Ugie Folk Festival

A small, intimate and friendly celebration of folk with concerts, pub folk nights and sessions.

Aberdeenshire Farming Museum, Peterhead

Sat 26 Jul

Free / 01771 613352

  • 13:30 – 15:00

Various venues: Aberdeenshire

Fri 25 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01771 613352

Sat 26 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01771 613352

Sun 27 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01771 613352

Ceolas

Annual summer school focusing on the connections between Scottish traditional music, Gaelic song and dance, with expert tuition and workshops plus lectures, demonstrations, concerts and ceilidhs, all in the spectacular surroundings of South Uist.

Various venues, South Uist

Sun 6 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01878 700154

Mon 7 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01878 700154

Tue 8 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01878 700154

…and 3 more dates until 11 Jul

Crail Festival

As well as musical entertainment, the Crail Festival features art, drama, theatre and outdoor activities including a sandcastle competition and rock pool guddle, for adults and children. This year's line-up includes Donnie Munro, Them Beatles, Richard Digance, Fake Thakray, Crail Festival Orchestra, Les Barker and more.

Various Venues, Crail

Wed 23 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01333 450108

Thu 24 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01333 450108

Fri 25 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01333 450108

…and 8 more dates until 2 Aug back to top

Culross Festival

The Culross Festival has been bringing top UK and Scottish acts to the picturesque setting of Culross for over 20 years. The open-air lawn of Abbey House and the presence of catering facilities lend themselves to a late summer picnic, and previous festivals have included Eddi Reader, Ruby Turner and Capercaillie.

Abbey House, Culross

Fri 15 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01592 111101

Sat 16 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01592 111101

Sun 17 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01592 111101

Harris Arts Festival

This festival displays the Hebrides' passion and aptitide for luring arts fans to idyllic locations and rewarding them with a showcase of professional performances and local artistry. Now in its 22nd year, the festival is the highlight of a summer-long programme of events, illustrated talks, concerts and workshops.

Various Venues, Outer Hebrides

Sat 28 Jun

Times & prices vary / 01859 520746

Sun 29 Jun

Times & prices vary / 01859 520746

Mon 30 Jun

Times & prices vary / 01859 520746

…and 5 more dates until 5 Jul

Isle of Jura Music Festival

Island festival of Scottish traditional music which encourages local talent with concerts, workshops and sessions, and completes the bill with established acts to give them something to aspire to.

Craighouse, Isle of Jura

Fri 26 Sep

Times vary / 01496 820362

Sat 27 Sep

Times vary / 01496 820362

Sun 28 Sep

Times vary / 01496 820362

Kelso Country and Western Festival

A Western-themed affair, complete with line dancing tuition, a fast-draw competition, a ladies' afternoon tea (Western attire compulsary) and of course, live music. Dave Cash is the compere.

Springwood Hall, Kelso

Fri 9 May

Prices vary / 01324 871042

  • 13:00 – 00:00

Sat 10 May

Prices vary / 01324 871042

  • 13:00 – 00:00

Sun 11 May

Prices vary / 01324 871042

  • 13:00 – 00:00

Southern Fried Festival

Scotland’s festival of American roots music covers all the American Roots music bases, including blues, country, cajun, gospel, swing and soul. Fill up on workshops, free gigs, local bands and their legendary soul food. Headliners in 2014 include Buffy Sainte-Marie, Steve Earle and Rosanne Cash.

Perth Concert Hall

Fri 25 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01738 621031

Sat 26 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01738 621031

Sun 27 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01738 621031

back to top

St Andrews Voices

It's all about the voice, in this eclectic festival of music drawn from opera, Lieder, folk, jazz, early music and contemporary genres. The 2014 festival celebrates Scotland's cultural history as well as the vibrancy of Scotland's current music scene.

Various venues: St Andrews

Fri 24 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Sat 25 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Sun 26 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Arran Folk Festival

The island known for being Scotland in miniature presents a weekend of folk, with sessions, concerts and ceilidhs centred in Brodick.

Various Venues, Arran

Fri 6 Jun

Times & prices vary

Sat 7 Jun

Times & prices vary

Sun 8 Jun

Times & prices vary

Bathgate Music Festival

A community-led music festival, including the Party in the Park, where a funfair accompanies the music. Live@lunch gigs cheer up the middle of the day, if you simply can't wait for the evening's fun.

Various Venues: Bathgate

Thu 4 Sep

Times & prices vary. / 07500 608651

Fri 5 Sep

Times & prices vary. / 07500 608651

Sat 6 Sep

Times & prices vary. / 07500 608651

Sun 7 Sep

Times & prices vary. / 07500 608651

Blas Festival

A massive celebration of the culture of traditional music and Gaelic in the Highlands of Scotland.

Various Venues (Highlands)

Thu 4 Sep

Times & prices vary

Fri 5 Sep

Times & prices vary

Sat 6 Sep

Times & prices vary

…and 9 more dates until 15 Sep

Blazin' in Beauly

The brainchild of Blazin' Fiddles, designed to immerse visitors in the music of the Highlands and Islands through concerts, sessions, talks and workshops – making this one of the finest fiddle festivals around.

Beauly

Sat 11 Oct

Times & prices vary

Sun 12 Oct

Times & prices vary

Mon 13 Oct

Times & prices vary

…and 4 more dates until 17 Oct back to top

The Border Gaitherin – Coldstream

The Border Gatherin offers a chance to camp near the River Tweed in Coldstream before taking in a weekend of traditional music and dance. Local talent will be showcased in an open stage competition, plus there are workshops and ceilidhs for those who want to join in the fun.

Coldstream

Fri 30 May

Times & prices vary / 01573 224920

Sat 31 May

Times & prices vary / 01573 224920

Sun 1 Jun

Times & prices vary / 01573 224920

CAMRA Reading Beer & Cider Festival

More than 500 real ales and 150 real ciders to tantalise your tastebuds, plus local live music, a pub quiz, festival games and more. Sunday is suitable for the whole family to attend.

Kings Meadow Park, Reading

Thu 1 May

£7–£17.30 per day/session

Fri 2 May

£7–£17.30 per day/session

Sat 3 May

£7–£17.30 per day/session

Sun 4 May

£7–£17.30 per day/session

Ceol Cholasa

Four-day folky fest on the Island of Colonsay with some great acts appearing. This year’s line-up features Bella Hardy, Battlefield Band, Rura, Kathleen MacInnes, David Francey, Mairearad & Anna and others. There is also a series of workshops and a ceilidh.

Colonsay, Isle of Colonsay

Thu 11 Sep

Times & prices vary

Fri 12 Sep

Times & prices vary

Sat 13 Sep

Times & prices vary

Sun 14 Sep

Times & prices vary

Denholm Folk Festival

A wee folk festival for a wee village. The weekend's programme includes evening concerts, workshops and an open stage competition. The main events are joined by continual sessions for uninterrupted foot-tapping.

Various Venues, Denholm

Fri 7 Nov

Times & prices vary

Sat 8 Nov

Times & prices vary

Sun 9 Nov

Times & prices vary

Doune the Rabbit Hole

A boutique music festival that manages a lovely line-up of music, theatre, comedy and spoken word performances. Acts for 2014 include the Peatbog Faeries, Acid Mother’s Temple, Wave Pictures, Jeffrey Lewis, The One Ensemble, Ela Orleans, The Shiverin' Sheiks, Woodenbox, Adam Stafford, Balkanarama Klub, Laura J Martin…

Cardross Estate, by Port of Menteith

Fri 22 Aug

Times vary / £52–£82

Sat 23 Aug

Times vary / £52–£82

Sun 24 Aug

Times vary / £52–£82

back to top