Music, Folk, Festival

61 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Big Burns Supper

Stars from across the country congregate as Dumfries celebrates the birth of the Baird with a vast selection of dance, theatre, visual arts, live art and comedy, turning Burns' Night into a festival of contemporary arts.

Various venues, Dumfries

Fri 23 Jan 2015

Times & prices vary / 01387 271820

Sat 24 Jan 2015

Times & prices vary / 01387 271820

Sun 25 Jan 2015

Times & prices vary / 01387 271820

…and 6 more dates until 31 Jan 2015

Glasgow Loves Hogmanay

A programme of family activities for the daytime and early evening of Hogmanay, including traditional music, children’s activities and Scottish food and drink.

George Square, Glasgow

Wed 31 Dec

Times & prices to be confirmed

Portpatrick Folk Festival

A weekend festival in a picturesque seaside village, with concerts at the village hall and sessions at harbourside pubs on the Friday and Saturday.

Various Venues, Portpatrick

Fri 4 Sep 2015

Times & prices vary

Sat 5 Sep 2015

Times & prices vary

Sun 6 Sep 2015

Times & prices vary

The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo

This unique event draws crowds (and performers) from all over the world with massed pipes and drums, massed military bands, display teams, dancers and the haunting lament of the Lone Piper set against the magnificent backcloth of Edinburgh Castle.

Castle Esplanade, Edinburgh

Fri 7 Aug 2015

£25–£63 / 0131 225 1188

Sat 8 Aug 2015

£25–£63 / 0131 225 1188

Mon 10 Aug 2015

£25–£63 / 0131 225 1188

…and 17 more dates until 29 Aug 2015

Cottier Chamber Project

The Cottier Chamber Project is a lively, genre-hopping festival. Hosted by the enterprising chamber group Daniel's Beard, it brings top-flight professional chamber musicians to the West End and promotes chamber music, jazz, nu-folk and world music to Glasgow audiences.

Various venues: Glasgow

Fri 5 Jun 2015

Times & prices vary

Sat 6 Jun 2015

Times & prices vary

Sun 7 Jun 2015

Times & prices vary

…and 19 more dates until 26 Jun 2015 back to top

Mull of Kintyre Music Festival

Traditional and contemporary Scottish and Irish music based in Campbeltown, Kintyre (The Cradle of the Nation) on the west coast of Scotland. The festival offers a mix of concerts, ceilidhs, music sessions, workshops, children’s entertainment, parades, cultural and heritage tours that make the most of the location.

Mull of Kintyre

Wed 19 Aug 2015

Times vary / £7–£30 / 01586 552056

Thu 20 Aug 2015

Times vary / £7–£30 / 01586 552056

Fri 21 Aug 2015

Times vary / £7–£30 / 01586 552056

…and 2 more dates until 23 Aug 2015

Nip Festival

Formerly known as the Inverness Whisky Festival, this event now celebrates gin as well as whisky. Expect plenty of distilleries, talks, masterclasses, food, live music and demonstrations throughout the city.

Various Venues, Inverness

Tue 7 Apr 2015

Times & prices vary

Wed 8 Apr 2015

Times & prices vary

Thu 9 Apr 2015

Times & prices vary

…and 2 more dates until 11 Apr 2015

Something to Smile About 2015

Live music festival with something for everyone: food and drink, spoken word, circus performers, crafts and drumming workshops.

Thornensians Rugby Club, Doncaster

Sat 6 Jun 2015

£10–£12 (under 12s £5–£6) / 01302 883522

Fringe by the Sea

With a spot of sea air and an entertaining line-up of music, comedy, theatre, film, author and children’s events, North Berwick's multi-arts festival offers a respite from the madness of Edinburgh in festival season.

Various Venues, North Berwick

Mon 10 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary / 01620 890787

Tue 11 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary / 01620 890787

Wed 12 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary / 01620 890787

…and 4 more dates until 16 Aug 2015

Aberdour Festival

The picturesque seaside town plays host to an action-packed family-friendly festival. There's something for all ages and all tastes, from a beach day with a sandcastle competition for children and fun run for adults, to a food market and picnic day, as well as sports, magic shows, children's activities and live music over…

Various Venues, Aberdour

Fri 31 Jul 2015

Times & prices vary

Sat 1 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary

Sun 2 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary

…and 7 more dates until 9 Aug 2015 back to top

Colonsay Festival of Spring

This tiny island comes alive with a series of events that showcase its natural beauty: workshops and tours, whisky tasting and cake baking, music, exhibitions and film screenings.

Colonsay, Isle of Colonsay

Mon 27 Apr 2015

Times & prices vary / 07850 230000

Tue 28 Apr 2015

Times & prices vary / 07850 230000

Wed 29 Apr 2015

Times & prices vary / 07850 230000

…and 18 more dates until 17 May 2015

African Drum Village

Scotland's only festival dedicated to drumming, with African beats echoing around the landscape of Glenisla. With the emphasis on friendly, relaxed fun, workshops are provided for all the family to learn how to sing, play and dance African style.

Scottish Outdoor Education Centre, Meigle

Thu 6 Aug 2015

Times vary / £200 (ages 5–16 £50 and must be accompanied by parent/guardian; under 5s free) / 01899 221115

Ticket price includes accommodation, food and drink.

Fri 7 Aug 2015

Times vary / £200 (ages 5–16 £50 and must be accompanied by parent/guardian; under 5s free) / 01899 221115

Ticket price includes accommodation, food and drink.

Sat 8 Aug 2015

Times vary / £200 (ages 5–16 £50 and must be accompanied by parent/guardian; under 5s free) / 01899 221115

Ticket price includes accommodation, food and drink.

Sun 9 Aug 2015

Times vary / £200 (ages 5–16 £50 and must be accompanied by parent/guardian; under 5s free) / 01899 221115

Ticket price includes accommodation, food and drink.

Ceol Cholasa

Four-day folky fest on the Island of Colonsay with some great acts appearing. The line-up is announced closer to the time but the 2014 festival featured Bella Hardy, Battlefield Band, Rura, Kathleen MacInnes, David Francey and Mairearad & Anna. There is also a series of workshops and a ceilidh.

Colonsay, Isle of Colonsay

Thu 17 Sep 2015

Times & prices vary

Fri 18 Sep 2015

Times & prices vary

Sat 19 Sep 2015

Times & prices vary

Sun 20 Sep 2015

Times & prices vary

Doune the Rabbit Hole

A boutique music festival that manages a lovely line-up of music, theatre, comedy and spoken word performances.

Cardross Estate, by Port of Menteith

Fri 21 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary

Sat 22 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary

Sun 23 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary

Galloway Music Festival

Competitive music festival for amateur musicians of all ages. The syllabus covers a wide range of categories including piano, brass, woodwind, recorder, strings, ensemble, vocal, choral, jazz, recital, composition, speech and Scottish traditional, with members of the public welcome to attend all competitions and a…

Various Venues, Stranraer and Newton Stewart

Mon 9 Mar 2015

Times vary / All events are free except for the Festival Concert (£5). / 01671 402570

Tue 10 Mar 2015

Times vary / All events are free except for the Festival Concert (£5). / 01671 402570

Wed 11 Mar 2015

Times vary / All events are free except for the Festival Concert (£5). / 01671 402570

…and 3 more dates until 14 Mar 2015 back to top

Glenfarg Folk Feast

A small and friendly stalwart of the folk festival calendar, this festival is an initiative of Glenfarg Village Folk Club and is open to many musics of an acoustic variety as well as storytelling and poetry.

Glenfarg Hotel

Fri 10 Apr 2015

Times & prices vary / 07473 931440

Sat 11 Apr 2015

Times & prices vary / 07473 931440

Sun 12 Apr 2015

Times & prices vary / 07473 931440

Hebridean Celtic Festival

The picturesque Hebridean islands of Lewis and Harris provide a fitting backdrop for this family-friendly festival that showcases Celtic, traditional and contemporary music with a strong focus on Gaelic culture. Last year's line-up included Donnie Munro, Cara Dillon, Rachel Sermanni, Big Country, Duncan Chisholm, The…

Various Venues, Hebrides

Wed 15 Jul 2015

Times & prices vary / 01851 621234

Thu 16 Jul 2015

Times & prices vary / 01851 621234

Fri 17 Jul 2015

Times & prices vary / 01851 621234

Sat 18 Jul 2015

Times & prices vary / 01851 621234

Ceolas

Annual summer school focusing on the connections between Scottish traditional music, Gaelic song and dance, with expert tuition and workshops plus lectures, demonstrations, concerts and ceilidhs, all in the spectacular surroundings of South Uist.

Various venues, South Uist

Sun 5 Jul 2015

Times & prices vary / 01878 700154

Mon 6 Jul 2015

Times & prices vary / 01878 700154

Tue 7 Jul 2015

Times & prices vary / 01878 700154

…and 3 more dates until 10 Jul 2015

Girvan Traditional Folk Festival

A weekend community folk festival run by Girvan Folk Club featuring a range of open sessions, concerts, workshops and children's events.

Various venues, Girvan

Fri 1 May 2015

Times & prices vary / 01465 712128

Sat 2 May 2015

Times & prices vary / 01465 712128

Sun 3 May 2015

Times & prices vary / 01465 712128

Isle of Jura Music Festival

Island festival of Scottish traditional music, now in it's 22nd year, which encourages local talent with concerts, workshops and sessions, and completes the bill with established acts to give them something to aspire to.

Craighouse, Isle of Jura

Fri 25 Sep 2015

Times vary / Price vary / 01496 820362

Sat 26 Sep 2015

Times vary / Price vary / 01496 820362

Sun 27 Sep 2015

Times vary / Price vary / 01496 820362

back to top

Lairg Music Festival

A day packed with competitions for all ages in fiddle, accordion, piano and bands.

Lairg Community Centre

Sat 20 Jun 2015

Prices to be confirmed / 01549 402168

Moniaive Folk Festival

One of the country's most civilised festivals, the Moniaive Folk Festival boasts a heated marquee and a campsite with hot showers alongside its myriad musical sessions, children's programme, workshops and piping competition.

Moniaive

Fri 8 May 2015

Times & prices vary / 01387 820241

Sat 9 May 2015

Times & prices vary / 01387 820241

Sun 10 May 2015

Times & prices vary / 01387 820241

Portsoy Music Festival: The Sixth Haal

A three day festival which captures the varied music traditions of the north of Scotland, so there's everything from bothy ballads to Burns as well as Celtic, folk, Americana and Irish influenced music. There is also a range of sessions, workshops and storytelling from local performers and musicians.

Various Venues, Portsoy

Fri 29 May 2015

Times & prices vary / 01261 842571

Sat 30 May 2015

Times & prices vary / 01261 842571

Sun 31 May 2015

Times & prices vary / 01261 842571

Speyfest

Well-established as one of the best Celtic and Scottish music festivals in the country with a varied programme of seated concerts, ceilidhs and stomps across three days and nights. The festival line-up features some of the biggest names from the worlds of Scottish traditional and contemporary music.

Fochabers

Fri 31 Jul 2015

Times & prices vary

Sat 1 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary

Sun 2 Aug 2015

Times & prices vary

TMSA Keith Festival

Traditional music, song, poetry and dance across a platform of competitions and spectator events, ending with a Farewell Concert/Ceilidh to leave revellers with fond memories and the desire to return next year.

Various Venues, Isle of Skye

Fri 12 Jun 2015

Times & prices vary / 01471 844207

Sat 13 Jun 2015

Times & prices vary / 01471 844207

Sun 14 Jun 2015

Times & prices vary / 01471 844207

back to top