Music, Folk, Festival

86 events

Sorted by popularity / date & time

Scots Fiddle Festival

Held over three days, this exciting, fiddle-fuelled weekend includes concerts, recitals, workshops, talks, stalls, sessions, festival clubs, and ceilidhs.

Various venues, Edinburgh

Fri 21 Nov

Times & prices vary

Sat 22 Nov

Times & prices vary

Sun 23 Nov

Times & prices vary

CAMRA Reading Beer & Cider Festival

More than 500 real ales and 150 real ciders to tantalise your tastebuds, plus local live music, a pub quiz, festival games and more. Sunday is suitable for the whole family to attend.

Kings Meadow Park, Reading

Thu 1 May

£7–£17.30 per day/session

Fri 2 May

£7–£17.30 per day/session

Sat 3 May

£7–£17.30 per day/session

Sun 4 May

£7–£17.30 per day/session

Glasgow Americana

Blues, country and folk fest following in the footsteps of the fondly remembered Big Big Country festival.

Various venues: Glasgow

Wed 1 Oct

Times & prices vary / 07960 152333

Thu 2 Oct

Times & prices vary / 07960 152333

Fri 3 Oct

Times & prices vary / 07960 152333

…and 2 more dates until 5 Oct

Cottier Chamber Project

Now in its fourth year, the Cottier Chamber Project is a lively, genre-hopping festival unto itself in the wider orbit of Glasgow's West End Festival. Hosted by the enterprising chamber group Daniel's Beard, it brings top-flight professional chamber musicians to the West End and promotes chamber music, jazz, nu-folk and…

Various venues: Glasgow

Fri 6 Jun

Times & prices vary

Sat 7 Jun

Times & prices vary

Sun 8 Jun

Times & prices vary

…and 12 more dates until 20 Jun

Darvel Music Festival

A community-led festival, Darvel has been gathering fans over the past ten years under the stewardship of Neil and Sheila McKenna. This year's show features Eric Bibb and Band (on their only UK date), with support from Michael Jerome Browne.

Town Hall, Darvel

Sat 3 May

£22.50–£25 / 01560 322437

  • 19:30
back to top

Dumfries and Galloway Arts Festival

To say the Dumfries and Galloway Arts Festival ticks a few boxes would be an understatement. Established in 1979 with a view to bring world-class artists to a mainly rural area, it has grown in confidence and scale ever since. The ten-day family-friendly multi-arts Borders-based festival boasts everything from theatre…

Various venues

Fri 16 May

Times & prices vary / 01387 253383

Sat 17 May

Times & prices vary / 01387 253383

Sun 18 May

Times & prices vary / 01387 253383

…and 7 more dates until 25 May

Fringe by the Sea

With a spot of sea air and an entertaining line-up of music, comedy, theatre, film, author and children’s events, North Berwick's multi-arts festival offers a respite from the madness of Edinburgh in festival season.

Various Venues, North Berwick

Mon 4 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01620 890787

Tue 5 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01620 890787

Wed 6 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01620 890787

…and 4 more dates until 10 Aug

Underneath the Stars Festival

New festival curated by Kate Rusby with an emphasis on good food, music and entertainment.

Cannon Hall Farm, Barnsley

Fri 25 Jul

£50–£110 / 01226 767872

  • 12:00 – 23:00

Blazin' in Beauly

The brainchild of Blazin' Fiddles, designed to immerse visitors in the music of the Highlands and Islands through concerts, sessions, talks and workshops – making this one of the finest fiddle festivals around.

Beauly

Sat 11 Oct

Times & prices vary

Sun 12 Oct

Times & prices vary

Mon 13 Oct

Times & prices vary

…and 4 more dates until 17 Oct

Haddington Festival

A local festival with a range of activities and musical concerts, exhibitions, craft fairs and a daily café and sporting competitions.

Various venues: Haddington

Fri 30 May

Times & prices vary / 01620 824816

Sat 31 May

Times & prices vary / 01620 824816

Sun 1 Jun

Times & prices vary / 01620 824816

…and 7 more dates until 8 Jun back to top

Speyfest

Well-established as one of the best Celtic and Scottish music festivals in the country with a varied programme of seated concerts, ceilidhs and stomps across three days and nights. The festival line-up features some of the biggest names from the worlds of Scottish traditional and contemporary music.

Fochabers

Fri 25 Jul

Times & prices vary

Sat 26 Jul

Times & prices vary

Sun 27 Jul

Times & prices vary

St Andrews Voices

It's all about the voice, in this eclectic festival of music drawn from opera, Lieder, folk, jazz, early music and contemporary genres. The 2014 festival celebrates Scotland's cultural history as well as the vibrancy of Scotland's current music scene.

Various venues: St Andrews

Fri 24 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Sat 25 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Sun 26 Oct

Times & prices vary / 01382 909900

Dundonald Music Festival

A folk/rock weekender with a concert each night, plus music workshops and competitions for children.

Various venues: Dundonald

Fri 23 May

Times & prices vary

Sat 24 May

Times & prices vary

Sun 25 May

Times & prices vary

Lairg Music Festival

A day packed with competitions for all ages in fiddle, accordion, piano and bands.

Lairg Community Centre

Sat 21 Jun

Prices to be confirmed / 01549 402168

  • 10:00 – 23:00

Millport Country & Western Festival

A rootin' tootin' weekend of free country and western gigs across several venues on the Isle of Cumbrae. Past acts on the billing have included Lazy Dog and Carson City.

Various Venues, Millport

Fri 5 Sep

Times & prices vary

Sat 6 Sep

Times & prices vary

Sun 7 Sep

Times & prices vary

back to top

Northern Roots Music Festival

Bruce MacGregor of Blazin' Fiddles and BBC Radio Scotland started this festival to showcase the finest roots, folk and world music from around the world and it's gone from strength to strength.

Bogbain Adventure & Heritage Farm, Inverness

Fri 30 May

Times & prices vary / 01463 772800

Sat 31 May

Times & prices vary / 01463 772800

Sun 1 Jun

Times & prices vary / 01463 772800

The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo

This unique event that draws crowds (and performers) from all over the world with massed pipes and drums, massed military bands, display teams, dancers and the haunting lament of the Lone Piper set against the magnificent backcloth of Edinburgh Castle.

Edinburgh Castle

Fri 1 Aug

Times vary / £25–£62 / 0131 225 1188

Sat 2 Aug

Times vary / £25–£62 / 0131 225 1188

Sun 3 Aug

Times vary / £25–£62 / 0131 225 1188

…and 20 more dates until 23 Aug

Southern Fried Festival

Scotland’s festival of American roots music covers all the American Roots music bases, including blues, country, cajun, gospel, swing and soul. Fill up on workshops, free gigs, local bands and their legendary soul food. Headliners in 2014 include Buffy Sainte-Marie, Steve Earle and Rosanne Cash.

Perth Concert Hall

Fri 25 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01738 621031

Sat 26 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01738 621031

Sun 27 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01738 621031

Crail Festival

As well as musical entertainment, the Crail Festival features art, drama, theatre and outdoor activities including a sandcastle competition and rock pool guddle, for adults and children. This year's line-up includes Donnie Munro, Them Beatles, Richard Digance, Fake Thakray, Crail Festival Orchestra, Les Barker and more.

Various Venues, Crail

Wed 23 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01333 450108

Thu 24 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01333 450108

Fri 25 Jul

Times & prices vary / 01333 450108

…and 8 more dates until 2 Aug

Culross Festival

The Culross Festival has been bringing top UK and Scottish acts to the picturesque setting of Culross for over 20 years. The open-air lawn of Abbey House and the presence of catering facilities lend themselves to a late summer picnic, and previous festivals have included Eddi Reader, Ruby Turner and Capercaillie.

Abbey House, Culross

Fri 15 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01592 111101

Sat 16 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01592 111101

Sun 17 Aug

Times & prices vary / 01592 111101

back to top

Denholm Folk Festival

A wee folk festival for a wee village. The weekend's programme includes evening concerts, workshops and an open stage competition. The main events are joined by continual sessions for uninterrupted foot-tapping.

Various Venues, Denholm

Fri 7 Nov

Times & prices vary

Sat 8 Nov

Times & prices vary

Sun 9 Nov

Times & prices vary

Dundee Flower and Food Festival

A delicious staple in the Dundee calendar, with food and drink tastings, chef demonstrations, live music and competitions including the World Jampionships. Once they've had enough to eat, shows and face-painting are on hand to entertain the kids. Special guests announced nearer the time, but last year there were…

Camperdown Country Park, Dundee

Fri 5 Sep

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01382 433815

Sat 6 Sep

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01382 433815

Sun 7 Sep

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01382 433815

Dunfermline Folk Weekend

Opening with a family ceilidh on the Friday evening, the weekend proceeds with a selection of workshops, sessions, open stage, family events and concerts, run by a folk club that's been in existence now for over 50 years.

Various venues, Dunfermline

Fri 24 Oct

Times & prices vary

Sat 25 Oct

Times & prices vary

Sun 26 Oct

Times & prices vary

Falkland Traditional Music Festival

A weekend of traditional music, folk, ceilidhs, workshops and sessions.

Various venues: Falkland

Fri 27 Jun

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed

Sat 28 Jun

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed

Sun 29 Jun

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed

Feis an Eilein

Summer arts festival celebrating traditional Scottish music on the Isle of Skye. Interspersed with history and archaeology walks, charity cafes, whisky tasting, open galleries and artist events.

SEALL at Sabhal Mor Ostaig, Isle Of Skye

Tue 1 Jul

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01471 844207

Wed 2 Jul

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01471 844207

Thu 3 Jul

Times vary / Prices to be confirmed / 01471 844207

…and 53 more dates until 25 Aug back to top